1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Writing Lyrics

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Ezmar, Dec 13, 2012.

1. Ezmar

Ezmar

So I'm a musician, and I hope to make a career writing and performing music. I feel like at 18 years old, and with a relatively high level of skill and talent (According to BOTH myself and others, I do have some modesty ;)), this is a pursuable goal. In any case, I'm very good with writing music, not perfect, but I'm sure I'll get better; even legendary songwriters like the Beatles did simple songs starting out. My real issue comes with writing lyrics. I can write lyrics -- Good ones, in fact, if the opinions of others are to be believed -- the problem being that it takes literally years for me to complete the lyrics to one song. Part of this is being busy with other life-duties and not having the luxury of dedicating every waking moment to songwriting, but a large part of it is just that the moments of inspiration where I think of something really good are just few and far between. Lyrics just sort of come to me in moments over a VERY long period of time. I've actually completed the lyrics to two songs in the last 4 years.