Writing/Playing Music Expressively

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by MrYellow, Jan 28, 2014.

1. MrYellow

MrYellow

When I'm talking to non-musicians or sometimes fellow musicians, when ever I mention things like 'playing expressively' or 'Being artistic when writing songs' I tend to get a few weird looks, now I don't expect every person who doesn't play or write music to appreciate the artistic qualities of it, but I've met very talented musicians who think it's strange or very 'old-fashioned' to put emotion into your music.
    I am by no means saying you can't just play for fun but for those who are really, really into their own music, what do you think?

2. BassChuck

BassChuck Supporting Member

As a musician I really don't like the word 'expressive'. What does it really mean? I prefer the word 'communication' or something like that. People love stories. People love to learn something new about themselves or about life in general. Any style of music can communicate, but what's the message? You don't have to play slow and pretty to communicate. Are you there to show people what a musician looks like playing an instrument, or are you there to take them to a place they want to be?

3. Jefff

Jefff Supporting Member

What does, "being artistic when writing songs" mean? The act of wrting a song is artistic by definition.

I think people may be looking at you funny because you definitions are to vague.

4. MrYellow

MrYellow

I agree, that does seem a lot more fitting.
    There once was a time when I thought slow songs could communicate the same way you read a 300 page novel, takes a while until you can force yourself to like it, I know better now.