yba-3 keeps blowing fuses HELP

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by hydrohydra, Jan 12, 2013.


  1. hydrohydra

    hydrohydra

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Location:
    Detroit Michigan
    For the past couple of weeks I've been playing my yba-3 through my custom made 4x10 1x15, the head has recently been restored with all nre power and pre amp tubes, before I was running my head through a sunn 2x15 and had only burnt a fuse once, over the course of a couple months, now that I've been using my 4x10 1x15 I blew 2 maybe 3, I've also recently added a boss odb-3 pedal to my rigg and my drummer thinks its pushing my head to hard and burning the fuse, I can generally play for a while for example both of the last times it blew I was turning off my OD, I was hoping someone could give me some advice.
  2. B-string

    B-string Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, Az USA
    Sorry miss read
  3. Primakurtz

    Primakurtz Registered Nihilist Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    What are the ohms rating of these 3 cabinets?
  4. hydrohydra

    hydrohydra

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Location:
    Detroit Michigan
    The sunn is 8ohm and the 4x10,1x15 is 4ohm
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Primakurtz

    Primakurtz Registered Nihilist Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    That could be the issue - the amp is solid at 8 ohms but not at 4. I have heard of this happening with some old Traynors. They can handle 4 ohms, but not for extended periods.
  7. hydrohydra

    hydrohydra

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Location:
    Detroit Michigan
    That sucks, I was just considering changing my cabs together too in hopes of extra head room, maybe I should just find a second 8ohm cab
  8. Bassmec

    Bassmec

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Location:
    Ipswich UK
    Disclosures:
    Proprietor Springvale Studios
    I have allways been confused about why Traynor did not provide 4/8/16 ohm transformer taps on this, unlike proper British amplifiers.
    http://www.talkbass.com/forum/f15/traynor-yba-3-impedance-rating-info-posterity-870355/
    Interesting! No fixed variable bias either? + Those colonial chaps also appear to have made the tag strip out of a hardboard material that absorbs moisture and carbon tracks!.
    But then of course my ex misses was Canadian, so I kind of understand.
    :D:bag:
  9. Primakurtz

    Primakurtz Registered Nihilist Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    According to that thread, the speaker jacks are wired in series. If so, two 8 ohm cabs are showing the amp a 16 ohm load.
  10. Edword

    Edword

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Location:
    Detroitish

    This is correct. What the OP should look for is another 4 Ohm cab, to use with the existing one.
  11. BassmanPaul

    BassmanPaul Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto Ontario Canada
    Very few North American amplifiers do have tapped secondaries on the OPT. It surprised me too when I first got here.
  12. hydrohydra

    hydrohydra

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Location:
    Detroit Michigan
    So I should find a second 4 ohm cab then? Also what would it run at if I ran the 4ohm and the 8ohm?

Share This Page