YEAH! it makes noise

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by dju, Feb 18, 2014.

1. dju

dju

I assembled a Fender Jazz parts bass a week or so ago after finally getting all of the parts. American special 3tone sunburst body, hwy one rosewood neck, schaller vintage style tuners, 75ri fender pickups, hipshot type A fender mount bridge, rsguitarworks wiring kit with superpots, and rotosound strings. I decided to try shielding the control cavity with some foil tape. I have never tried this before. So after wiring everything up, plugged it in and no sound :meh:. Everything looked ok. My only minor concern was using the original central grounding lug. it looked like to many ground wires for one little grounding tag. So I decided to get the control cavity brass grounding plate and use it. Still no sound. :bawl:
    Well tonight I to try and isolate parts to see if I could locate the problem so I disconnected the neck pickup from the pot and using jumper wires directly attached to the output jack. success; sound :hyper: . I then tried the bridge pickup with same results. retried wiring everything back together and still sound.
    Now while I was trouble shooting I had the control plate setting on the bench along the side of the bass. so I reinstall the control plate and no more sound. I don't see any reason for why the sound would go away. so I decide to remove the foil tape from the control cavity, reinstall the control plate and I still have sound. While I didn't see the culprit I must have had something touching the foil tape used for shielding that shouldn't had been touching.
    however I now have a working bass. now on to setup.

dj
  2. aphexafx

aphexafx A mind is a terrible thing. Supporting Member