You know what I've just realised? (Slight pricing rant)

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by GobBass, Jan 17, 2013.

1. GobBass

GobBass

The price of a 2013 MIA Fender Precision is now in and around the same price I would have gotten an American Deluxe when I started playing nine years ago. This makes me a sad panda and one more reason why I want a Sandberg. :D
  2. hsech

hsech Don't try to argue with an old fart. Gold Supporting Member

Prices for everything have gone up. Just check your gas pump, food or even bass strings. Don't look for any prices to be going down.
  3. hdracer

hdracer Supporting Member

I could fill up the gas tank in my truck 8 years ago for what it costs to fill up my motorcycle now.
  4. Baird6869

Baird6869 Supporting Member

All relative. You probably make more $$$ than you did 8 years ago too.

If you put that $1299.00 (or whatever) into Mutual funds 8 years ago, you could likely buy a Custom Shop Fender now.
  5. two fingers

two fingers Loud Mouth Know It All Blowhard Gold Supporting Member

So, the price of a Sandberg hasn't budged in a decade?
  6. hdracer

HA!!!!
    Maybe a couple bucks more but that gets eaten up by taxes and every other consumable.

I would love for you to show me a Mutual fund that could turn $1000 into $3800+ from 2005 to now.
  7. Blue_Whistle88

Blue_Whistle88 Supporting Member

Yea, exactly. Whining about prices of anything going up is like complaining that you're getting older and will eventually die. Get over it.

In my opinion, Fenders are quite reasonably priced in shops, considering how ubiquitous they are and the consequent "label mark-up" one would expect. Especially here in Australia, where we get killed by import costs by companies like Warwick (brand new neck-thru 5-string for $6900 anyone?)
  8. hags2k

hags2k

1300, 4% interest compounding annually, 8 years is 1779. The price of an American deluxe jazz is 1699.99. I think it checks out :D