1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

    The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

    Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Your *ONE* favourite Book of all Time?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by ::::BASSIST::::, Dec 3, 2012.

  1. ::::BASSIST::::

    ::::BASSIST:::: Relax... Nothing Is Under Control. Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Likes Received:
    3
    What is your *ONE* favourite book of all time?

    Title:
    Author:
    Genre/Topic:
    Why:


    Just one please. :)
  2. i_got_a_mohawk

    i_got_a_mohawk

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Likes Received:
    18
    That's a tough one.
  3. Lonesomedave

    Lonesomedave Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    God Bless you, Mr. Rosewater.

    by: Kurt Vonnegut

    Genre: boy that's tough...all i can say is that it's fiction

    why?....boy, that's tough too, except it really made me think

    [​IMG]
  4. Thick McRunfast

    Thick McRunfast Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Another Vonnegut fan.

    Mine is Breakfast of Champions though.

    Changed the way I look at everything. Literally
  5. MatticusMania

    MatticusMania LANA! HE REMEMBERS ME! Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im a Vonnegut fan, as well.

    Im still not certain, though, which book is my favorite of all time.
    Likely, because I fail to see the importance of ranking one's favorite things.

    In the spirit of the thread, I'll go with KV's "Cat's Cradle" or possibly Kerouac's "The Dharma Bums".
    Sorry, I couldnt stick to just one. :)
  6. Pilgrim

    Pilgrim Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Likes Received:
    4
    Stranger in a Strange Land
    R.A. Heinlein
    Science Fiction

    This book changed the 60's and has influenced people ever since. One of the truly great science fiction novels.

    And in close contention with Tolkein's Lord of the Rings trilogy for my top spot.
  7. carlos840

    carlos840

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Title: An island to oneself
    Author: Tom Neale
    Genre/Topic: True story about a man who decides to leave everything and go live alone on an island in the pacific. He ended up staying there 16 years and wrote a book about his story.
    Why: Because i am quite a loner myself and always wondered if i could survive something like that without going mental! It is a pretty incredible story whichever way you look at it.
    The book is also very well written and keeps you up all night. I read it in two sittings, staying up till stupid o'clock, which very few books made me do.
  8. P. Aaron

    P. Aaron Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2002
    Likes Received:
    17
  9. MatticusMania

    MatticusMania LANA! HE REMEMBERS ME! Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah, and then there's the Tom Robbins books which have provided me with great perspective in recent years...

    most notably, "Skinny Legs and All"
  10. bassfran

    bassfran

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Disclosures:
    Endorsing artist: Lakland basses
    This is next to impossible.
    But...


    "The Little Prince" by Antoine de Saint Exupery.
  11. N.F.A.

    N.F.A. Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Likes Received:
    1
    Return of the King
    J.R.R. Tolkien
    Fantasy masterpiece. Very evocative. This book ties all the loose ends up.

    Macroscope by Piers Anthony is a close second.

    As a kid I would've told you the John Carter of Mars books or Tom Swift were the best.
  12. Oneirogenic

    Oneirogenic

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    His Dark Materials Trilogy (The Golden Compass, The Subtle Knife, The Amber Spyglass)

    Phillip Pullman

    Fantasy

    This trilogy(can be bought as one book) is intended for young teen/adolescents but in my opinion some of the subject matter dealing with Christian mythology is a little heavy for that age group. The Golden Compass movie was an abomination.
  13. bassybill

    bassybill The smooth moderator... Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Likes Received:
    15
    I'm a big fan of Vonnegut, like others here. Especially "Galapagos".

    I was also really tempted to say "Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance" by Robert Pirsig.

    But for my one book, I'd have to go for Lord of the Rings. That choice is perhaps more about where I was in my childhood when I first read it than about the book itself.
  14. Munjibunga

    Munjibunga Total Hyper-Elite Member Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Likes Received:
    23
    Disclosures:
    Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego
    The Dragons of Eden
    Carl Sagan
    mythbuster
  15. Jim Nazium

    Jim Nazium Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's one of my favorites. You're the only other person I've ever heard mention it.
  16. Bloodhammer

    Bloodhammer Don't be ludicrous Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Likes Received:
    10
    This is tentative, since I very well could read something that takes its place any time.

    But,

    House of Leaves
    Mark Z. Danielewski
    Horror/Drama/Satire/Spiraling into insanity
    Because this book is amazing.

    [​IMG]
  17. hdracer

    hdracer Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Likes Received:
    14
    Ranch Life and the Hunting Trail
    Theodore Roosevelt
    History/ Nature

    TR wrote this book in 1888 about the time he spent in North Dakota as a cattle rancher and hunter.
    I first read this book when I was in the navy and later found a second printing (1896) in great shape. I have traveled to the place of his ranch many times camping, hiking and hunting the territory that he did.
  18. nutso42

    nutso42

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Title: Speaker For the Dead
    Author: Orson Scott Card
    Genre/Topic: Science Fiction/Philosophy
    Why: Despite the fact most people prefer Ender's Game, I feel SFTD has better written characters and goes much deeper into the story
  19. Tractorr

    Tractorr

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Likes Received:
    5
    The Wind-Up Bird Chronicles

    Haruki Murakami

    Um...ah... Fiction?

    For those of you guys who like Vonnegut you should really check out Murakami. I kind of see him very much in the vein of Vonnegut and Tom Robbins. Like those guys his books are sort of all over the place. There was one scene in this novel that was so intense I almost vomited, but it was just that one scene. No other author has emotionally affected me as much as Murakami. Whenever I read one of his books I spend so much time thinking about translation ie how much of the intent of the author came through in translation etc. In the end, they are always very satisfying books if you like out there fiction.
  20. Tractorr

    Tractorr

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Likes Received:
    5
    When I was younger I could never get into SFTD. Maybe I need to give it a shot now.

Share This Page