1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

    We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Your *ONE* favourite Book of all Time?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by ::::BASSIST::::, Dec 3, 2012.


  1. ::::BASSIST::::

    ::::BASSIST:::: Progress Not Perfection. Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC Canada
    What is your *ONE* favourite book of all time?

    Title:
    Author:
    Genre/Topic:
    Why:


    Just one please. :)
     
  2. i_got_a_mohawk

    i_got_a_mohawk

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Location:
    Edinburgh & Dundee, Scotland
  3. Lonesomedave

    Lonesomedave

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Location:
    Nashville, Cats
    God Bless you, Mr. Rosewater.

    by: Kurt Vonnegut

    Genre: boy that's tough...all i can say is that it's fiction

    why?....boy, that's tough too, except it really made me think

    [​IMG]
     
  4. Thick McRunfast

    Thick McRunfast Not just good, good enough Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon USA
    Another Vonnegut fan.

    Mine is Breakfast of Champions though.

    Changed the way I look at everything. Literally
     
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. MatticusMania

    MatticusMania LANA! HE REMEMBERS ME!

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Location:
    Pomona, SoCal
    Im a Vonnegut fan, as well.

    Im still not certain, though, which book is my favorite of all time.
    Likely, because I fail to see the importance of ranking one's favorite things.

    In the spirit of the thread, I'll go with KV's "Cat's Cradle" or possibly Kerouac's "The Dharma Bums".
    Sorry, I couldnt stick to just one. :)
     
  7. Pilgrim

    Pilgrim Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Location:
    Fort Collins, Colorado
    Stranger in a Strange Land
    R.A. Heinlein
    Science Fiction

    This book changed the 60's and has influenced people ever since. One of the truly great science fiction novels.

    And in close contention with Tolkein's Lord of the Rings trilogy for my top spot.
     
  8. carlos840

    carlos840

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Location:
    Down in the middle somewhere.
    Title: An island to oneself
    Author: Tom Neale
    Genre/Topic: True story about a man who decides to leave everything and go live alone on an island in the pacific. He ended up staying there 16 years and wrote a book about his story.
    Why: Because i am quite a loner myself and always wondered if i could survive something like that without going mental! It is a pretty incredible story whichever way you look at it.
    The book is also very well written and keeps you up all night. I read it in two sittings, staying up till stupid o'clock, which very few books made me do.
     
  9. P. Aaron

    P. Aaron Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2002
    Location:
    Below Ground, Detroit area
  10. MatticusMania

    MatticusMania LANA! HE REMEMBERS ME!

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Location:
    Pomona, SoCal
    Ah, and then there's the Tom Robbins books which have provided me with great perspective in recent years...

    most notably, "Skinny Legs and All"
     
  11. bassfran

    bassfran

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Location:
    Chicago
    Disclosures:
    Endorsing artist: Lakland basses
    This is next to impossible.
    But...


    "The Little Prince" by Antoine de Saint Exupery.
     
  12. N.F.A.

    N.F.A. Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Location:
    In a blue funk
    Return of the King
    J.R.R. Tolkien
    Fantasy masterpiece. Very evocative. This book ties all the loose ends up.

    Macroscope by Piers Anthony is a close second.

    As a kid I would've told you the John Carter of Mars books or Tom Swift were the best.
     
  13. Oneirogenic

    Oneirogenic

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    His Dark Materials Trilogy (The Golden Compass, The Subtle Knife, The Amber Spyglass)

    Phillip Pullman

    Fantasy

    This trilogy(can be bought as one book) is intended for young teen/adolescents but in my opinion some of the subject matter dealing with Christian mythology is a little heavy for that age group. The Golden Compass movie was an abomination.
     
  14. BassyBill

    BassyBill The smooth moderator... Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Media:
    1
    Location:
    West Midlands UK
    I'm a big fan of Vonnegut, like others here. Especially "Galapagos".

    I was also really tempted to say "Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance" by Robert Pirsig.

    But for my one book, I'd have to go for Lord of the Rings. That choice is perhaps more about where I was in my childhood when I first read it than about the book itself.
     
  15. Munjibunga

    Munjibunga Total Hyper-Elite Member Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Location:
    Groom Lake, NV
    Disclosures:
    Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego
    The Dragons of Eden
    Carl Sagan
    mythbuster
     
  16. Jim Nazium

    Jim Nazium Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Takoma Park, MD (DC)
    That's one of my favorites. You're the only other person I've ever heard mention it.
     
  17. Bloodhammer

    Bloodhammer Twinkle Twinkle Black Star

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Location:
    Shreveport, Louisiana
    This is tentative, since I very well could read something that takes its place any time.

    But,

    House of Leaves
    Mark Z. Danielewski
    Horror/Drama/Satire/Spiraling into insanity
    Because this book is amazing.

    [​IMG]
     
  18. hdracer

    hdracer Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Elk River, MN.
    Ranch Life and the Hunting Trail
    Theodore Roosevelt
    History/ Nature

    TR wrote this book in 1888 about the time he spent in North Dakota as a cattle rancher and hunter.
    I first read this book when I was in the navy and later found a second printing (1896) in great shape. I have traveled to the place of his ranch many times camping, hiking and hunting the territory that he did.
     
  19. nutso42

    nutso42

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Location:
    Your location can be this long
    Title: Speaker For the Dead
    Author: Orson Scott Card
    Genre/Topic: Science Fiction/Philosophy
    Why: Despite the fact most people prefer Ender's Game, I feel SFTD has better written characters and goes much deeper into the story
     
  20. Tractorr

    Tractorr Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Media:
    4
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    The Wind-Up Bird Chronicles

    Haruki Murakami

    Um...ah... Fiction?

    For those of you guys who like Vonnegut you should really check out Murakami. I kind of see him very much in the vein of Vonnegut and Tom Robbins. Like those guys his books are sort of all over the place. There was one scene in this novel that was so intense I almost vomited, but it was just that one scene. No other author has emotionally affected me as much as Murakami. Whenever I read one of his books I spend so much time thinking about translation ie how much of the intent of the author came through in translation etc. In the end, they are always very satisfying books if you like out there fiction.
     
  21. Tractorr

    Tractorr Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Media:
    4
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    When I was younger I could never get into SFTD. Maybe I need to give it a shot now.
     

Share This Page