1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. We are currently evaluating the "One Post Per Classified Ad" policy. Thank you for all of your feedback.

    The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

    Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Zoom B3 not powering on USB

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by matrixcs, Dec 13, 2012.

  1. matrixcs

    matrixcs

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Guys,

    I recently purchased a Zoom B3 they say it should run on USB power.. unfortunately i tried but its blinking.. but when I plugged the power supply that comes with it.. it runs perfectly,

    here is the video when I tried it with USB

    http://youtu.be/nC755nUW_Gc
  2. drpepper

    drpepper Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's too bad. Is the USB functionality working otherwise?
  3. matrixcs

    matrixcs

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes it does work if I use the power adaptor or fully charged battery. I think this is just a cable issue. I will try to buy a premium A to B Usb cable. But i have no Idea, some friends told me get the one that comes from an HP printer or any printer since those are high quality specialty USB cable
  4. drpepper

    drpepper Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know that it would be a matter of a premium cable versus one that simply works. I have an assortment of cables gathered up over time, and mine seems to work with any of them. I have no idea what the one I'm using now originally came with.

    And it seemed a little surprising that a cable wasn't included.

    I suppose it's possible that the cable you're using was made specifically for something that doesn't carry power [​IMG]

    Good luck with it.
  5. OzzyGreg

    OzzyGreg Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    .
    mmm, that's annoying.
    My money's on a faulty cable.

    My B3 runs fine on the USB cable that came with the unit.
  6. oerk

    oerk

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Or your laptop doesn't put out enough juice or it's not clean enough for the B3.

    Can you try hooking the B3 up to another PC?
  7. Jazz Ad

    Jazz Ad Mi la ré sol Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Likes Received:
    0
    turn the unit off
  8. DWBass

    DWBass The Funkfather Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Likes Received:
    2
    Disclosures:
    Kohlman Bassworks
    This. Or what the other guy said about the USB port not giving enough juice. I've had that happen. Also some USB cables are not equal to others. I had a portable HD that came with a cable that didn't work. I tried another and it worked.
  9. Roscoe East

    Roscoe East

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    ...or -- and I realize this is a long shot considering that most folks upgrade their computers fairly regularly -- are the USB ports on your laptop 2.0 or 1.0? If the latter, it won't power anything.
  10. matrixcs

    matrixcs

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the reply guys,

    I contacted the supplier of Zoom B3 here already (the store where I purchase this) this will investigate this issue if they find my B3 is defective then they will replace it.

    I tried hooking it up with my MAC and still same thing.
    Yes my laptop is USB 2.0 and its ASUS K43u
  11. SGD Lutherie

    SGD Lutherie Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Disclosures:
    Owner, SGD Music Products
    Which USB port are you using? Some of them are low power, like the ones for keyboards and mice. They wont power things like that. The one in the back of the computer should do it.

    Do you have a powered hub? Try it with that.
  12. matrixcs

    matrixcs

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    i tried that as well.. blinking status still..

    i tried using it at my laptop.. still nothing..
  13. drpepper

    drpepper Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yours came with a USB cable?

    [​IMG]
  14. matrixcs

    matrixcs

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Zoom B3 is not being sold here with a USB cable

    anyway problem solved guys. I purchased an A/B USB Cable for (Epson L200) Printers and this worked like a charm
  15. OzzyGreg

    OzzyGreg Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    .
    Yep, sure did!

    So did the Zoom G3 I bought recently as a matter of fact.
  16. Testing123

    Testing123 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Likes Received:
    0
    The B3 I purchased here in southern California also did not come with a USB cable.
    What you need is a 'Type A to Type B' USB cable, or at least that's what it says on the Hosa USB packaging (USB-205AB).
    I bought my B3 at Sam Ash and asked them to include the cheapest compatible USB cable they had.

    HTH...
  17. meatwad

    meatwad Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine didn't come with cable either, but works great with the printer and usb extension cables I already had.

Share This Page