1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

    We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Zoom Q3HD battery life?

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by invader3k, Apr 15, 2012.


  1. invader3k

    invader3k Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Location:
    Fort Atkinson, WI
    Is it just me, or is the battery life on this thing not good at all? I just bought a brand new Q3HD two weeks ago, and have tried using it at a couple of our practices. I get a half hour of recording time, and then it powers down! I am recording at 720p/60fps and 192 kbps for audio. The second practice, I was using a brand new 32 gb memory card, so I know that's not the issue.

    Anyone have similar experiences? Do I need to adjust my settings, or simply go to always using the AC adapter with it?
     
  2. jmac

    jmac

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Location:
    Horsham, Pa
    The specs read "get up to 45 minutes of recording ..."

    Thirty minutes of recording on double A batteries seems ok to me. Go with the power supply if you want to record longer.
     
  3. Rockin Mike

    Rockin Mike Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Used mine for the first time to record a gig Friday night, 720p@30fps, 48kbps audio. Got the first set OK but it powered down right at the start of set 2 so I guess I got about an hour out of a fresh set of copper tops. That can get expensive.

    Does anybody know if it get better battery life at lower resolutions?
     
  4. invader3k

    invader3k Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Location:
    Fort Atkinson, WI
    OK, sounds like my record times aren't that bad then. I think I'll be investing in some rechargeable batteries and using the adapter a lot more.
     
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Vincent P

    Vincent P

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto Ontario, Canada
    Was going to suggest this; my son keeps a couple of sets, rotating with charges.
     
  7. waleross

    waleross

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Location:
    South Florida
    I have one and I only used batteries when I first got it to see if it worked. I do use re-chargable batteries but usually go with the adapter as I do with the Zoom H4N......:)
     
  8. rob69

    rob69

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Location:
    The Hague, The Netherlands
    I'm somewhat dissapointed by this device. When depending on batteries recording gigs of my band, I hold my breath when we play a 45 minute set. The Q3HD might just make it, or not. When switched off by running out of battery power it doesn't store the recording. That's a major downside of this thing.
     
  9. Johnny Crab

    Johnny Crab ACME,QSC,Fame/Hondo/Greco user & BOSE Abuser Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Location:
    South Texas
    IIRC it does have a "use less power" mode but I'm not sure if that messes with the FPS number or how it works. We(son and I) use Eneloops rechargeables and the wall wart. He uses the Q3 for master backup cam when shooting events and to pull some video off to mix in with the personnel cams.

    A small powerpack will be "McGuyvered" here soon for shows where a wall wart won't work.
     
  10. Steve

    Steve

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    The Energizer lithium batteries are a real and significant improvement over the alkaline type but..they are not cheap.
     
  11. invader3k

    invader3k Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Location:
    Fort Atkinson, WI
    That shouldn't happen. Something is either wrong with your unit or the settings you're using.
     
  12. DWBass

    DWBass The Funkfather Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Location:
    Newport News, VA via NYC
    Disclosures:
    Kohlman Bassworks
    I may be wrong, but I think there was a software update that fixed this issue.
     
  13. jmac

    jmac

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Location:
    Horsham, Pa
    Sorry for hijacking the thread, but how does the device record in a low light setting; like a bar?

    Most of the stuff that I found on youtube is of pro concerts; where there is plenty of light.
     
  14. DWBass

    DWBass The Funkfather Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Location:
    Newport News, VA via NYC
    Disclosures:
    Kohlman Bassworks
    I believe that was also addressed with that same software update. I'm almost sure there was a thread on this.
     
  15. danwat1234

    danwat1234

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    High quality NiMH rechargeable AA batteries is where it's at. "Sanyo XX" or Powerex 2700mAh is the ticket.

    The thing with alkalines is that their voltage lowers when there is a high load. NiMH and Lithium does not.
    Yes NiMH is 1.2V instead of 1.5V but alkaline is at 1.2V when it gets down to ~50% charge level anyway, and like I said the voltage of Alkalines may droop from the load of this high end camcorder. So combined the alkalines might not be useful in the camcorder before they are actually discharged all the way.

    NiMH batteries can have a lot more usable capacity than alkaline for high drain devices.

    Use a quality slow charger that has independent charging circuits for each battery and you're golden.
     

Share This Page