1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  
     
    TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Double E
upload_2018-11-22_0-21-55.png

3 Leaf Proton Envelope Filter V3

5/5, 5 from 1 review
The Proton is a modern homage to the classic Mutron III envelope filter
upload_2018-11-22_0-21-55.png

Recent Reviews

  1. Double E
    3 leaf Proton V1
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Nov 21, 2018
    Build Quality:
    5.00/5,
    Features:
    5.00/5,
    Value:
    5.00/5,
    Pros
    • + $180
    I have been using the Proton V1 for a few years now. Many other filters have been tried and I currently still own a couple others but the Proton stays on my main board. It just offers consistent smooth sounding, juicy filter tones that are bass-face inducing.

    Like any filter, you have to practice with it to get a feel for getting the thing to open up for you but once you dial it in, it delivers.

    Mine is an early model with a custom etched limited chassis... it has some limited control but I am still quite happy with it. I may try a newer version one day but I would feel like I'd be betraying an old friend.



    upload_2018-11-22_0-30-16.

Item Details

  1. Pedal Type:
    Envelope Filter
    Batteries:
    9v
    Price:
    $229
    The Proton is an analog envelope filter designed to evoke the sounds popularized by Stevie Wonder, Jerry Garcia, Bootsy Collins and many more. It uses photocells to modulate the filter cutoff just like the best vintage units, delivering a juicy sweep in a compact and easy-to-use package.

    9v DC, 25mA minimum.
    2.1mm center-negative (Boss-style) plug.

    Relay-based silent true bypass will automatically switch to bypass mode if power is lost.

    The Proton is a modern homage to the classic Mutron III envelope filter. It has a wide frequency response that sounds great with every instrument. Version 3 has increased input sensitivity to work better with low-ouput instruments, and it adds a tone knob for variable control over the filter cutoff frequency.

    Decay - The time it takes for the filter to sweep. Higher settings produce long, nautral envelope sounds, while lower settings produce quicker, more “bubbly” envelope sounds.

    Tone - The maximum cutoff frequency of the filter. It works like the tone knob of a guitar or bass. Higher settings will accentuate the treble frequencies; lower settings increase the filter’s warmth.

    Sweep - Direction of the filter’s sweep. In the up position, the filter sweeps normally. In the down position, the sweep is reversed. You may need to change the settings of the gain and decay knobs; settings that work in the up position won’t always work well in the down position.

    Peak - The “wetness” of the filter sound. Higher settings produce a more aggressive sweep with a sharper resonant peak.

    Gain - Response of the filter to your playing dynamics. This should be adjusted based on the output of your instrument. Start with the sensitivity at minimum and turn up until the filter reacts to your liking.

    [​IMG]

    upload_2018-11-22_0-21-55.

    Share

Loading...