1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  
     
    TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Double E
upload_2018-11-21_21-49-43.png
Double E
upload_2018-11-21_21-49-43.png
upload_2018-11-21_21-50-14.png
upload_2018-11-21_21-51-3.png

Fender American Professional Jazz Bass Rosewood Neck Limited Edition Shell Pink

4.8/5, 4.8 from 1 review
Another Guitar Center Exclusive... also available from Musicians Friend and Music 123
upload_2018-11-21_21-49-43.png upload_2018-11-21_21-50-14.png upload_2018-11-21_21-51-3.png

Recent Reviews

  1. Double E
    Unexpectedly Impressed!
    4.75/5, 4.75 out of 5, reviewed Nov 21, 2018
    Tone:
    5.00/5,
    Build Quality:
    5.00/5,
    Features:
    5.00/5,
    Feel:
    4.00/5,
    Value:
    5.00/5,
    Pros
    • + Unique model with unique hardware combination.
    Cons
    • - Color is not for everybody.
    Alright, I stopped by my GC when this was fresh on the market. Lucky for me they had one on display... naturally I had to plug it in and check it out.

    I am a sucker for the look and feel of the unfinished rosewood necks, and it just felt great as expected. The laser etched logo was underwhelming in person, it is not very deep into the wood, I think it would've been cooler if the depth allowed for a more 3D look with some shadow involved.

    There were a couple surprises that I apparently missed in the spec when reading the ad on GC's page... this thing is equipped with vintage reverse tuners and has a hootenanny button installed. That coupled with the faux clay dots tells me they were going for a vintage vibe but then took a left turn with the body specs being all modern American Professional including the V-Mod pickups and the HMV bridge. The hybrid approach was sort of appealing to me though. I also should note here that it has the serial number stamped on the neckplate and it's a V-series number typically used for the vintage series instruments.

    The overall look was much more impressive in person than in the adverts, the shell pink looks much cooler when you are holding the thing in your hands under normal lighting. The fit and finish were superb and the fretwork was quite nice. I dig the skinny vintage frets too.

    The setup however, was not great... the neck, probably settling into it's new Northern Ohio climate, was in need of a truss rod tweak. It wasn't far off and I could tell that it would dial in very nicely with a proper setup to my taste.

    The tone was just as you'd expect from an Am Pro with maybe a little more punch overall. I was able to dial in all of the requisite jazz bass tones.

    I'd give it an A+ on fit & finish, A+ on sound, B on playability (setup would solve any issues there) and an A- on overall (the small penalty is for the lackluster headstock logo).

    I predict that these will sell like hotcakes and hold their value pretty nicely.
    Price Paid:
    N/A

Bass Details

  1. No. of Frets:
    20
    Construction:
    Bolt-On
    Active or Passive:
    Passive
    Scale Length:
    34"
    No. of Strings:
    4
    Body Material:
    Alder
    Neck Material:
    Solid Rosewood
    Price:
    $1,749.99
    Now available in Limited Edition Shell Pink finish with a solid rosewood neck.

    Pushing craftsmanship to its limits, Fender design, test and endlessly experiment to create the best instruments on the planet. The Jazz Bass, a refinement of concepts first introduced in the Precision Bass, is the earliest example of this philosophy in action. Evolved for today’s musician, the American Professional Jazz Bass combines modern features and materials with Fender’s craftsmanship and expertise to produce a truly contemporary bass.

    Speedy, powerful and articulate, the Jazz Bass quickly carved out a niche for itself when it was released in 1960. The slim, ultra-fast neck and slick offset-waist styling made it a favorite of bassists everywhere. Funk, fusion, disco and, of course, modern rock all owe a life debt to the fantastically versatile Jazz Bass.

    Developed by pickup master Michael Bump, the brand-new V-Mod single-coil Jazz Bass pickups use a carefully selected blend of alnico magnet types for balanced tone with authentic Fender sonic DNA. Designed for comfort and performance, the slim modern “C”-shaped neck profile feels just right nestled in your hand, becoming one with you, while the narrow-tall frets provide a familiar playing feel and perfect intonation.

    Posiflex graphite support rods run the length of the neck, adding stability to the neck while resisting warping. The redesigned tuning machines use a fluted shaft, creating the optimum break angle over the nut while keeping the string windings tight for increased sustain and enhanced tuning stability.

    The best of yesterday and today, the American Professional Jazz Bass is the latest form of electric inspiration from Fender. Step up and stake your claim to a legend. Includes hardshell case.

    Features
    • Contoured alder body with pickguard
    • Bolt-on rosewood neck and fingerboard
    • V-Mod Single-Coil Jazz pickups with dual volume and master tone
    • HiMass bridge and high-ratio Fender vintage-style tuners

    upload_2018-11-21_21-49-43.

    upload_2018-11-21_21-51-3.

    upload_2018-11-21_21-50-14.


    Specifications
    Neck
    • Shape: Slim C
    • Wood: Rosewood
    • Neck joint: Bolt-on
    • Scale length: 34 in.
    • Truss rod: Standard
    • Finish: Satin
    Pickups
    • Active or passive pickups: Passive
    • Pickup configuration: SS
    • Neck: V-Mod single-coil Jazz
    • Bridge: V-Mod single-coil Jazz
    • Brand: Fender
    • Series or parallel: Series
    Fretboard
    • Material: Rosewood
    • Radius: 9.5 in.
    • Fret size: Narrow Tall
    • Number of frets: 20
    • Inlays: Dot
    • Nut material: Bone
    • Nut width: 1.5 in. (38.1mm)
    Body
    • Cutaway: Double cutaway
    • Construction: Solidbody
    • Body wood: Alder
    • Body finish: Gloss
    • Orientation: Right handed
    Controls
    • Control layout: Volume 1, volume 2, master tone
    Hardware
    • Bridge type: Fixed
    • Bridge design: 4-saddle HiMass
    • Tuning machines: High-ratio Fender Lightweight Vintage-Style Keys with Tapered Shafts
    • Color: Nickel/chrome
    Other
    • Number of strings: 4
    • Pickguard: Yes
    • Special features: Pickups
    • Case: Hardshell case
    • Country of origin: USA

    Share Bass

Loading...