1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  
     
    TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Double E
upload_2018-11-21_21-49-43.png
Double E
upload_2018-11-21_21-49-43.png
upload_2018-11-21_21-50-14.png
upload_2018-11-21_21-51-3.png

Fender American Professional Jazz Bass Rosewood Neck Limited Edition Shell Pink

4.8/5, 4.8 from 1 review
Another Guitar Center Exclusive... also available from Musicians Friend and Music 123
upload_2018-11-21_21-49-43.png upload_2018-11-21_21-50-14.png upload_2018-11-21_21-51-3.png
Reviews Summary
0
 
0%
1
 
100%
0
 
0%
0
 
0%
0
 
0%
Overall Rating:
4.8/5,
Tone:
5/5,
Build Quality:
5/5,
Features:
5/5,
Feel:
4/5,
Value:
5/5,
  1. Double E
    Unexpectedly Impressed!
    4.75/5, 4.75 out of 5, reviewed Nov 21, 2018
    Tone:
    5.00/5,
    Build Quality:
    5.00/5,
    Features:
    5.00/5,
    Feel:
    4.00/5,
    Value:
    5.00/5,
    Pros
    • + Unique model with unique hardware combination.
    Cons
    • - Color is not for everybody.
    Alright, I stopped by my GC when this was fresh on the market. Lucky for me they had one on display... naturally I had to plug it in and check it out.

    I am a sucker for the look and feel of the unfinished rosewood necks, and it just felt great as expected. The laser etched logo was underwhelming in person, it is not very deep into the wood, I think it would've been cooler if the depth allowed for a more 3D look with some shadow involved.

    There were a couple surprises that I apparently missed in the spec when reading the ad on GC's page... this thing is equipped with vintage reverse tuners and has a hootenanny button installed. That coupled with the faux clay dots tells me they were going for a vintage vibe but then took a left turn with the body specs being all modern American Professional including the V-Mod pickups and the HMV bridge. The hybrid approach was sort of appealing to me though. I also should note here that it has the serial number stamped on the neckplate and it's a V-series number typically used for the vintage series instruments.

    The overall look was much more impressive in person than in the adverts, the shell pink looks much cooler when you are holding the thing in your hands under normal lighting. The fit and finish were superb and the fretwork was quite nice. I dig the skinny vintage frets too.

    The setup however, was not great... the neck, probably settling into it's new Northern Ohio climate, was in need of a truss rod tweak. It wasn't far off and I could tell that it would dial in very nicely with a proper setup to my taste.

    The tone was just as you'd expect from an Am Pro with maybe a little more punch overall. I was able to dial in all of the requisite jazz bass tones.

    I'd give it an A+ on fit & finish, A+ on sound, B on playability (setup would solve any issues there) and an A- on overall (the small penalty is for the lackluster headstock logo).

    I predict that these will sell like hotcakes and hold their value pretty nicely.
    Price Paid:
    N/A
Loading...