Double E
upload_2018-11-22_3-25-59.png

Fender American Standard Precision Bass 2012

4.5/5, 4.5 from 2 reviews
A Precision Bass with Custom Shop Pickups!
upload_2018-11-22_3-25-59.png

Recent Reviews

  1. BlueP
    A good p bass
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Jan 30, 2024
    Tone:
    4.00/5,
    Build Quality:
    5.00/5,
    Features:
    5.00/5,
    Feel:
    5.00/5,
    Value:
    4.00/5,
    I still own it from new and had it out at practice and gigs for a couple of years. It was my 3rd Fender US PBass.

    I like the neck, its meaty…

    I like the colour in mystic blue along with the ‘blonde’ maple neck.

    I generally don’t like modifying my basses, but the62 custom shop pick up never sat comfortably for me. Interestingly, I put the 62 into my mustang and I think that pick up sounds good in the mustang pj configuration.

    I had a tech fit a 63.

    this bass is currently resting in its case and I figure that I will likely give it another run sooner or later.

    Part of me wishes I had left the 62 in it, but what is done is done.

    I have since acquired a pro 1 Pbass and a pro 2. I thing the pro series P basses sound better than the 2012, but that is a subjective comment.

    The 2012 does not neck dive, unlike the 2004 and 1995 that I previously owned.

    From experience, I rate the 2012 as definitely a good Pbass…If you are into the 62 customer shop pick up sound, then it’s a great bass.

    The chunky neck is good to play, if you like that type of neck, but if you are after a slim neck, then this bass would not suit you.
  2. Double E
    Necessary part of any bass selection
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Nov 22, 2018
    Tone:
    5.00/5,
    Build Quality:
    5.00/5,
    Features:
    5.00/5,
    Feel:
    5.00/5,
    Value:
    5.00/5,
    I saw this bass in this color and simply had to have it.

    The one I picked up used had the original Custom Shop pickup replaced with the popular EMG GZR-P passive vintage split coil. I received from the previous owner the original electronics but have decided so far to keep the EMG in there...it's made for vintage tones and seems to tick all of the boxes for a standard P bass tone.

    This is a timeless classic instrument and the 2012 version is a nicely refined rendition. The maple neck has a beautiful satin finish on the back and a practical gloss finish on the maple fretboard, which stays clean nicely.

    The fretworks and neck shaping is so comfortable and feels just like an old hat.

    The lightweight open back tuners are a complete non event, no issues... they just do what they do without being noticed.

    The build quality, fit and finish is practically perfect. The high mass bridge is very functional and easy to adjust, allowing for top mount or string through body configuration.

    It's an average to heavy bass, weighing in at about 9.5 lbs.

    Here is my Jade P with the ubiquitous tort guard and of course it is now strung with TI Jazz flats.

    Eat your hearts out!

    upload_2018-11-22_3-42-59.png
    Price Paid:
    $900

Bass Details

  1. No. of Frets:
    20
    Construction:
    Bolt-On
    Active or Passive:
    Passive
    Scale Length:
    34"
    No. of Strings:
    4
    Price:
    $1,799
    Get legendary bass tones with the Fender American Standard Precision Bass! The Fender American Standard Precision Bass sports some incredible new features, including a Custom Shop pickup and a new satin neck finish. The graphite-reinforced maple neck/fingerboard features an updated satin and gloss finish, and the Custom Shop split single-coil pickup provides a punchy sound with lots of body. The P Bass is the classic sound of rock and roll, and now it's even better! You also get a high-quality SBK hard case and accessory kit with the American Standard Precision Bass.

    One of the biggest improvements on the American Standard Precision Bass is the addition of Fender Custom Shop pickups. You'll love the Custom Shop '62 P Bass split single-coil pickup in this P Bass. Fender over-wound these pickups to give you more punch, midrange, bass and output. Perfect for all styles of music, this pickup gives you the fat, warm low end that the Precision Bass is known for.

    Fender American Standard Precision Bass Guitar Specifications
    • Series: American Standard
    • Body Shape: Precision Bass
    • Body: Alder, Gloss Urethane Finish
    • Neck: Graphite Reinforced Maple, Modern C Shape
    • Neck Finish: Urethane
      • Maple Fingerboard: Satin Finish on Back, Gloss Finish on Front
    • Fingerboard: Maple or Rosewood
    • Fingerboard Radius: 9.5 inches (24.1 cm)
    • Frets: 20, Medium Jumbo
    • Scale Length: 34 inches (86.36 cm)
    • Nut Width: 1.625 inches (41.3 mm)
    • String Nut: Synthetic Bone
    • Truss Rod: Posiflex Graphite Neck Support Rods
    • Truss Rod Nut: 3/16 inch Hex Adjustment
    • Pickups: Custom Shop ‘60s P Bass Split Single-Coil Pickup
    • Controls: Master Volume, Master Tone
    • Hardware: Chrome
    • Tuning Keys: Fender/Hipshot Vintage Keys with Tapered Shafts
    • Bridge: HMV, High Mass Vintage, (Strings-Thru-Body or Topload)
    • Control Knobs: Knurled Chrome
    • Included Accessories: Case
    • Colors: 3 Color Sunburst, Black, Olympic White, Jade Pearl Metallic, Mystic Red, Mystic Blue
    upload_2018-11-22_3-25-59.png

    [​IMG]

    Share Bass

Loading...