1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  
    TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Double E
2015-08-21 19.24.03 copy.jpg
Double E
2015-08-21 19.24.03 copy.jpg
2015-08-21 19.24.18 copy.jpg

Lakland 55-02 Deluxe

5/5, 5 from 1 review
35" Scale 5 string bass with ash body with quilted maple top. Bolt on maple neck with graphite reinforcement. Laklan MM-J pickups with LH3 Preamp.
2015-08-21 19.24.03 copy.jpg 2015-08-21 19.24.18 copy.jpg

Recent Reviews

  1. Double E
    Phenomenal instrument, destined to be a classic!
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 10, 2015
    Build Quality:
    • + Great feeling neck, both finish and profile Beautiful figured maple top Excellent tonal variety from the pickup and preamp confuguration
    • - No passive tone control No outboard mid-sweep Timid treble cut on the preamp
    This bass just feels so good in my hands! Sounds very smooth but can get aggressive if you dig in a bit. The action is easily set for clean low action. Balances well on a strap and has good access to the upper register.

    The neck is "Plek'd" which is a fancy term for the computerized, machine fret leveling process that Lakland uses. It apparently places the neck in position accounting for string tension during the leveling process which results in a very accurate finished product. This shows in the consistent feel of the fretted notes in all registers on the neck.

    I absolutely dig the sounds I can squeeze out of this beast. I am able to dial in quite a variety of tones though I wish it had a passive tone control. A stacked mid with a frequency sweep would be nice too, however there is a set of dip switches in the control cavity for setting the mid frequency. The only other wish list item for me would be a little more treble cut than what's available with the LH3 preamp for a more deep dub tone.

    The B string is very good and works well with fingerstyle, slap or with a plectrum. I hardly noticed the 35" scale which is new to me. The 19mm spacing at the bridge is well suited to my aggressive playing style and large mitts.

    Overall, I am absolutely smitten with this bass and it is destined to be the main attraction of my stable for years to come!
    Price Paid:

Bass Details

  1. No. of Frets:
    Scale Length:
    No. of Strings:
    Body Material:
    Neck Material:
    Flat-Sawn Maple with Graphite Reinforcement Bars
    Body Finish:
    Three Tone Sunburst
    Nut Width:
    Fingerboard Material:
    Lakland Dual Access
    Lakland MM-J
    Other Hardware:
    Hipshot Lic. Ultralite Tuners
    8 lbs / 12 oz (as tested)
    EQ / Controls:
    Vol (pull for active bypass), Blend, Bass-Mid-Treble (boost/cut), MM pickup Coil Selector
    pbass64 and Laklandlover like this.