Double E
2015-08-21 19.24.03 copy.jpg
Double E
2015-08-21 19.24.03 copy.jpg
2015-08-21 19.24.18 copy.jpg

Lakland 55-02 Deluxe

5/5, 5 from 1 review
35" Scale 5 string bass with ash body with quilted maple top. Bolt on maple neck with graphite reinforcement. Laklan MM-J pickups with LH3 Preamp.
2015-08-21 19.24.03 copy.jpg 2015-08-21 19.24.18 copy.jpg
Reviews Summary
1
 
100%
0
 
0%
0
 
0%
0
 
0%
0
 
0%
Overall Rating:
5/5,
Tone:
5/5,
Build Quality:
5/5,
Feel:
5/5,
Value:
5/5,
  1. Double E
    Phenomenal instrument, destined to be a classic!
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 10, 2015
    Tone:
    5/5,
    Build Quality:
    5/5,
    Feel:
    5/5,
    Value:
    5/5,
    Pros
    • + Great feeling neck, both finish and profile Beautiful figured maple top Excellent tonal variety from the pickup and preamp confuguration
    Cons
    • - No passive tone control No outboard mid-sweep Timid treble cut on the preamp
    This bass just feels so good in my hands! Sounds very smooth but can get aggressive if you dig in a bit. The action is easily set for clean low action. Balances well on a strap and has good access to the upper register.

    The neck is "Plek'd" which is a fancy term for the computerized, machine fret leveling process that Lakland uses. It apparently places the neck in position accounting for string tension during the leveling process which results in a very accurate finished product. This shows in the consistent feel of the fretted notes in all registers on the neck.

    I absolutely dig the sounds I can squeeze out of this beast. I am able to dial in quite a variety of tones though I wish it had a passive tone control. A stacked mid with a frequency sweep would be nice too, however there is a set of dip switches in the control cavity for setting the mid frequency. The only other wish list item for me would be a little more treble cut than what's available with the LH3 preamp for a more deep dub tone.

    The B string is very good and works well with fingerstyle, slap or with a plectrum. I hardly noticed the 35" scale which is new to me. The 19mm spacing at the bridge is well suited to my aggressive playing style and large mitts.

    Overall, I am absolutely smitten with this bass and it is destined to be the main attraction of my stable for years to come!
    Price Paid:
    $1,000.00
Loading...