1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  
     
    TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Double E
upload_2018-11-22_2-33-32.png
Double E
upload_2018-11-22_2-33-32.png
upload_2018-11-22_2-34-4.png
upload_2018-11-22_2-34-33.png

Lakland Skyline 55-60

5/5, 5 from 1 review
'60s inspiration and today's leading-edge technology
upload_2018-11-22_2-33-32.png upload_2018-11-22_2-34-4.png upload_2018-11-22_2-34-33.png

Recent Reviews

  1. Double E
    My modded 55-60
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Nov 22, 2018
    Tone:
    5.00/5,
    Build Quality:
    5.00/5,
    Features:
    5.00/5,
    Feel:
    5.00/5,
    Value:
    5.00/5,
    Pros
    • + Nice neck finish and shape
    • + Great modding platform
    Cons
    • - Slightly heavy at just over 10 pounds
    These Lakland Skylines make great modding platforms. This one was routed for soapbar pickups before I bought it, I then switched the pickups to Nordstrand Fat Stacks and added a East J-Retro preamp. I also had a couple different custom pickguards made to match by Pickguardian.

    I am a Lakland guy when it comes to 5 strings. I don't know what tips the scale for me, the neck profile, the scale length or the neck finish... but I just feel right at home on this bass. I also dig the wide bridge spacing since I switch between this and my Fender 4 strings with similar spacing.

    The preamp allows me to dial up a huge range of tones from a subtle vintage thump to as much hi-fi as I want.

    The bass hangs nicely on a strap and is quite comfortable to play even at over 10 lbs in weight. The truss rod is easily accessible and it's a snap to tweak the setup as needed.

    The necks are Plek'd at the factory and I like the ease with which I can achieve an acceptable string height and feel.

    This bass has been a real GAS killer for me along side it's counterpart in my arsenal, a Lakland 55-02 which I also modded to my liking, you can read that review here on this site as well.

    There are some aspects that are not for everyone. The longer scale does not fit with some players and the bridge shape gets some criticism. I actually like the bridge, it is distinctive and very functional.

    I reccommend these to anyone trying to add a 5 string to their collection.

    upload_2018-11-22_2-47-46.
    Price Paid:
    $950

Bass Details

  1. No. of Frets:
    22
    Construction:
    Bolt-On
    Active or Passive:
    Passive
    Scale Length:
    35"
    No. of Strings:
    5
    Price:
    $1,238
    The Lakland Skyline 55-60 is manufactured to the same specifications as Lakland's US-made 55-60 bass and outfitted with the same passively delicious Lakland J-style pickups. The Lakland pickups replicate vintage bass tones as well as we've ever heard and players love the comfy taper of the 55-60 neck.

    The 35" scale length of the 55-60 is the reason all Lakland 5's sound so good, so low! When you talk about clarity, tautness and tone in regards to the low B, you're talking about our passion!

    This instrument is designed to combine timeless '60's innovations (the slim neck and narrow nut, the offset-body balancing) and apply it to today's leading edge technology such as an enhanced neck joint, graphite reinforced neck, and passive hand wound pickups by Lakland to create a contemporary classic.


    SPECS:

    • Nut Width: 1.81"
    • Nut Width: Delrin
    • Fret Size: .041/.085"
    • Width at Final Fret: 3.3"
    • 1st Fret Neck Depth: .81"
    • 12th Fret Neck Depth: .92"
    • Fingerboard Radius: 10-13"
    • Scale Length: 35"
    • Frets: 22
    • Bridge String Spacing: .75"
    • Neck Wood: Flat-Sawn Rock Maple w/ Graphite Reinforcement Bars
    • Body Wood: Ash
    • Tuners: Hipshot Lisc. Ultra-Lite's
    • Truss Rod Access: Neck Heel: 4mm Hex
    • Controls: Volume/Volume/Tone
    • Bridge: Lakland Dual Access (through body or through bridge)
    • Pickups: Lakland Vintage J Single Coil (2)

    upload_2018-11-22_2-33-32.

    upload_2018-11-22_2-34-4.

    upload_2018-11-22_2-34-33.

    Share Bass

Loading...