1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  
  2. Welcome Back!  Please see this thread for more info about the site outage.  Thank you for your patience as we work out bugs and tweak server configs.


Double E
upload_2018-11-22_2-33-32.png
Double E
upload_2018-11-22_2-33-32.png
upload_2018-11-22_2-34-4.png
upload_2018-11-22_2-34-33.png

Lakland Skyline 55-60

5/5, 5 from 1 review
'60s inspiration and today's leading-edge technology
upload_2018-11-22_2-33-32.png upload_2018-11-22_2-34-4.png upload_2018-11-22_2-34-33.png
  1. Double E
    My modded 55-60
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Nov 22, 2018
    Tone:
    5.00/5,
    Build Quality:
    5.00/5,
    Features:
    5.00/5,
    Feel:
    5.00/5,
    Value:
    5.00/5,
    Pros
    • + Nice neck finish and shape
    • + Great modding platform
    Cons
    • - Slightly heavy at just over 10 pounds
    These Lakland Skylines make great modding platforms. This one was routed for soapbar pickups before I bought it, I then switched the pickups to Nordstrand Fat Stacks and added a East J-Retro preamp. I also had a couple different custom pickguards made to match by Pickguardian.

    I am a Lakland guy when it comes to 5 strings. I don't know what tips the scale for me, the neck profile, the scale length or the neck finish... but I just feel right at home on this bass. I also dig the wide bridge spacing since I switch between this and my Fender 4 strings with similar spacing.

    The preamp allows me to dial up a huge range of tones from a subtle vintage thump to as much hi-fi as I want.

    The bass hangs nicely on a strap and is quite comfortable to play even at over 10 lbs in weight. The truss rod is easily accessible and it's a snap to tweak the setup as needed.

    The necks are Plek'd at the factory and I like the ease with which I can achieve an acceptable string height and feel.

    This bass has been a real GAS killer for me along side it's counterpart in my arsenal, a Lakland 55-02 which I also modded to my liking, you can read that review here on this site as well.

    There are some aspects that are not for everyone. The longer scale does not fit with some players and the bridge shape gets some criticism. I actually like the bridge, it is distinctive and very functional.

    I reccommend these to anyone trying to add a 5 string to their collection.

    upload_2018-11-22_2-47-46.png
    Price Paid:
    $950
Loading...

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.