GuiTuber
IMG_0836.jpg
GuiTuber
IMG_0836.jpg
IMG_0837.jpg
IMG_0838.jpg
IMG_0834.jpg

Squier Vintage Modified Jazz 70's

4.6/5, 4.6 from 9 reviews
IMG_0836.jpg IMG_0837.jpg IMG_0838.jpg IMG_0834.jpg
Reviews Summary
5
 
56%
4
 
44%
0
 
0%
0
 
0%
0
 
0%
Overall Rating:
4.6/5,
Tone:
4/5,
Build Quality:
4.33/5,
Feel:
4.67/5,
Value:
4.83/5,
Member Submitted Images (5)
Member Submitted Images
FB_IMG_1488295045855.jpg
FB_20170827_18_35_19_Saved_Picture.jpg
Full shot.jpg
IMG-20170625-WA0016.jpg
Jazz Bass.jpg
  1. A. D. Fairhurst
    Only very small problems
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Oct 12, 2017
    Tone:
    5/5,
    Build Quality:
    4/5,
    Feel:
    5/5,
    Value:
    5/5,
    Pros
    • + -As good a Jazz as anyone could possibly need -Great tone and playability -Looks cool as absolute hell and stands out brilliantly
    Cons
    • - -When it comes to tone and pickup blend, it is all or nothing (see review)
    After renouncing Jazz basses for a few years, I eventually pulled a Darth Vader and went from the mellow tones of the Precision to the gnarly bite of its two pickup cousin. This was the best-looking Squier bass I have ever seen, as the neck is a ravishing aged yellow colour and the blackguard/white finish go together perfectly, so I bought it.
    If you've played a Jazz bass before, you know what to expect from this: nice scooped, slap-ready sound with both pickups, mellow, almost Precision-like tone from the neck pickup, and honky, barky Jaco tone from the bridge pickup. It sounds and plays as well as any Fender this side of £2,000 and I have only experienced two issues with it so far:
    1-the jack socket came loose and, at some point, twisted round. This snapped one of the wires off the socket and it broke down at the start of a gig. Luckily I had my green Aria for backup and I work in a music shop so I managed to get it resoldered promptly. Then again, I suppose this could happen to any bass.
    2-the tone knob has very little effect until it's right the way down, where you will notice a sudden treble roll-off. There is no in-between. A similar thing happens when trying to blend pickups: if both are on and you try to roll one back a touch, you only need to turn the knob back very slightly for the pickup to suddenly drop out. However, when the pickup is running by itself, the volume knob works as you would expect (nice, even roll off all the way down). I intend to remedy this by installing a stack-knob configuration off ebay.
    So aside from those two issues, it works and plays exactly as a Jazz bass should. I highly recommend! (I have included some live shots of me playing this bass so you can appreciate how much it stands out on a stage. Please note that I have replaced the stock silver knobs with some regular black Jazz bass knobs from a friend's old Squier he took apart.)
    FB_20170827_18_35_19_Saved_Picture.jpg Full shot.jpg IMG-20170625-WA0016.jpg Jazz Bass.jpg
    Price Paid:
    £349
  2. Stratro
    Best value for money
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Mar 1, 2017
    Tone:
    4/5,
    Build Quality:
    4/5,
    Feel:
    5/5,
    Value:
    5/5,
    Pros
    • + Cheap, good looking, well built, easy to play in any musical style, sweetspot is easy to find, easy to upgrade with US Fender JB pickups.
    Cons
    • - None so far.
    It`s by far the best bass i have for the value of money.
    Looks good, sounds good, feels good, plays well.

    I love the neck & maple fretboard & i love the bodyshape and overall build quality.

    The i own is bought in April 2016 and i`ll post a short video how this baby sounds in my hands...
    Price Paid:
    It was a trade gift worth around 400$.
    Stratro
    Stratro
    FB_IMG_1488295045855.jpg
  3. ProDigit
    Nice bass!
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Oct 29, 2016
    Tone:
    4/5,
    Build Quality:
    5/5,
    Feel:
    4/5,
    Value:
    5/5,
    Pros
    • + Good sound
    I have the Jaco fretless version, this is the Marcus Miller, fretted version.

    They all sound excellent, and a step up on budget basses.
    My recommendation is to go with a Vintage modified PJ bass.
    It is a it better in sound quality than this one.

    This one is okay for slapping.
    The VM's PJ's are even more versatile than the J's.

    Great bass for the price though.
    Price Paid:
    $299.99 USD
  4. JWEssink
    There should be a big Fender logo on there.
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 15, 2016
    Tone:
    4/5,
    Build Quality:
    4/5,
    Feel:
    5/5,
    Value:
    5/5,
    Pros
    • + You get alot of quality for a really low price
    Cons
    • - The younger the bass, the less the quality
    I bought this bass somewhere in 2011/2012. I believe these where one of the first issues that this bass had.

    I am really sorry to say this: This one plays better than the average USA build fenders. (at least the ones I played on)

    The best feature this bass, in my opinion, is the satin finish on the neck.
    In my experience, when my hand get sweaty from playing, the gloss on normal necks make playing quite rough, I would say. My hand would basically stick to the neck.
    The satin finish prevents this.

    Tone is really great, though, might be me, but it does not sound good on all amps. The amps I prefer for this bass are fender build. (though, I am no expert is sound) I usually set the amp as neutral as possible and let the sound of the bass self do the job.

    The PU finish on the body is 'too good' for my taste.
    I know, this sounds really weird, but hear me out:

    I like it when your main bass fades overtime. Buckle rash, matt stains, faded neck. I love that!
    Though, the PU layer on this bass (on a lot of Fenders too, anyway) is just too good.

    "Why don't you tie behind your car then, if you want it to 'fade'".. Because, where's the fun in that...?

    I probably missed a lot of point to make a 'good' review, but these are the main things I have to say.

    8.5/10.
    Price Paid:
    €385
  5. DavitWest
    Very good bass for money
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 6, 2016
    Tone:
    4/5,
    Build Quality:
    5/5,
    Feel:
    5/5,
    Value:
    5/5,
    Pros
    • + Great Value. Good and versatile tone.
    Cons
    • - Might want to upgrade Pickups
    I have had this bass for 6 months and as i said it is a very good bass. I have paid $300 for it and i really do think the bass could bo worth twice as much, The build qulaity is really excellent and there are many tones you can get out of this guitar.
    Price Paid:
    $300
  6. DuckMan84
    Squier VM 70's Bass
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Jun 22, 2016
    Tone:
    3/5,
    Build Quality:
    4/5,
    Feel:
    4/5,
    Value:
    4/5,
    Pros
    • + Thin neck, real inlay, and not too heavy.
    Cons
    • - Neck dive, bridge, and pickups.
    Got one two weeks ago (5 string version), very surprised by he build quality and finish on this bass. Fender has definitely stepped up their game for basses in the lower price range.

    Neck dive as usual is noticeable (as with most Fender bass products), pickups are not bad.

    This bass does have REAL INLAY, not silk screened on, the neck is comfortable and the bass is not heavy.

    Would recommend to anyone looking for a bass on a budget.
    Price Paid:
    Traded my Squier MIM Jazz Bass
    Jeff O'Connor likes this.
  7. nerkoids
    Great bass for lefties too...
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Apr 19, 2015
    Tone:
    5/5,
    Build Quality:
    4/5,
    Feel:
    5/5,
    Value:
    5/5,
    Pros
    • + Great sounding pickups, the glossy neck doesn't get sticky with sweat, great finish (especially if one gets a 2 piece, match pieces for the body), at the very least above-satisfactory hardware such as the bridge, tuners and string tree. Balanced weight, looks great. One of the most affordable Squiers that are perfectly fine stock.
    Cons
    • - Mini taper pots are not adequately smooth enough for smooth volume and tone adjustments. The font for the Jazz Bass portion of the decal looks cheap for an instrument this classy. Also, the chrome knobs could have been black-coloured to be more in line with the style of the bass (although now I'm quibbling)
    My review of the Left-handed Vintage Modified 70s Jazz Bass by Squier. Definitely my number 2 instrument, after my purple TL-01. This is a solid instrument, and it's certainly one I highly recommend to fellow lefties out there looking for something Fender-y.

    I do neglect to mention in the video that there are some decent alternatives to buying this bass -- you can certainly find some decent affordable SX basses, or if you want to buy something in the same range as this bass (299.95 USD or 329.95 CDN) and customized, you can check out Equinox Musical Instruments.

    You're not going to do better than this, unless you go for an American Fender, my friend. I have this very model, not the previous one with the satin finished neck and the Duncan Designed pickups that many had raved about. This newer version is even better. Even though the neck is high gloss, it's not sticky as you might think, such as it is on the Classic Vibe 60s Jazz bass. The pickups are great, plenty of low end, versatile, just like a Jazz should be.

    Chances are good that you can get a great looking 2-piece body. The grain on mine is so close, you only see the seam on the back and below the neck joint. For those wondering if this newer version stacks up to the original VM Jazz bass - yes it does.

    One criticism, and I hope it's one that Squier will address - the tone pot doesn't work very well. Not sure if it's the capacitor or the pot, but the tone works full up, then when you turn it down by 1/10 a turn, it cuts off completely. Very minor flaw, and there are inexpensive remedies, and if you're a home recording musician like me, it's really not a deal breaker.

    Very easy to play, once set up properly, frets feel great (well dressed) very comfortable, just like any decent Jazz bass should be. Tuners are great, even with flats they stay rock solid in tune, and with a great setup, intonation can be near perfect.

    This is a ridiculously great instrument for the price. If you're a lefty, this is it. Or the sunburst with tortie shell pickguard and rosewood fingerboard. Can't go wrong with this!!!

    Video review:

    https://www.youtube.com/redirect?q=http%3A%2F%2Fyoutu.be%2Fz9lzM4UheWg%3Ft%3D8m31s&redir_token=BeKvvCRbKLvxZokWex3gxeb5W7N8MTQyOTU1NTY2MEAxNDI5NDY5MjYw
    Price Paid:
    329.99 CND (now sold at 419.99) street price
  8. vindibona1
    Much better than price or logo would indicate
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Apr 19, 2015
    Tone:
    4/5,
    Build Quality:
    4/5,
    Feel:
    5/5,
    Value:
    5/5,
    Pros
    • + The Feel is awsome, especially for a bass newbie. Bound fret board. Inlaid fret markers. Great looking natural wood grain in body. Graining on fingerboard is gorgeous and on my bass it isn't full glossy, so it has a nice rich look to it.
    Cons
    • - Fret ends could be rounded better
    I've been casually looking for a bass that I can use for some recordings I'd like to do. I'm mainly into normal 6 strings electrics and was missing a bass in my collection.

    I got dropped off at a local store this week just to hang and found myself in the bass section. I told the sales guy I was on a budget, wanted a decent bass and used was probably preferred. I asked him what he'd pick and he pulled this bass down. Felt great from the moment I picked it up. They told me there were "upgraded" pickups in it, but I didn't want to look then as it might have screwed up the deal... Did some horse trading and came home with it.


    The one thing I did do to my bass almost instantly was to round off the fret ends. I do not want to be aware of fret ends when I play and have become pretty proficient at rounding them off individually until they are similar in feel to what you would get with a $2000+ guitar. I've been working on it bit by bit to get it perfect.

    Edit: As a bass newbie I really didn't know what I was looking at and bought it because it felt good and the price was right. I've been shopping for an amp and accessories and have played a number of other basses since.

    I now know that there is a newer version of this guitar with a gloss neck. I'm glad I got the satin. Aesthetically there is a trade-off. The headstock on the satin version is pale compared to the gloss but the fingerboard shows its natural graining better. I also am aware of the 5 String version, but for now I'm good with the four string. As my bass is used I don't know which strings are on it but they are deflinitely harder on my fingers than my Strats.

    The one criticism I have of this particular bass is the pots. They are mini pots and seem to work well sporadically. There was one instance where I couldn't dial the volume down to zero, then a few moments later I could. Once my 30 day return period is over I will probably rewire it.

    The pickups on it do not appear to be fully original. In the neck it has the Seymour Duncan JB101B (BRIDGE) pickup. The bridge pickup seems similiar but has no label or marking so I cannot really make a statement about how this model would sound stock.

    After a week I'm glad that I got it. The one bass that I played that I liked even more was the Sterling Sub (Music Man) Ray... don't know if it was a 4 or 5, but it was new and more than twice what I paid for this bass. Perhaps it was the strings? The strings on my USED bass measured 46-105 and tore my fingers up. The Sub's strings were much smoother which I am sure helped to mold my experience. Perhaps getting the right set of strings will help the feel without killing the sound. Stay tuned.
    Price Paid:
    About half of new retail.
    tilt724 likes this.
  9. GuiTuber
    Great value, great bass
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Apr 16, 2015
    Tone:
    5/5,
    Build Quality:
    5/5,
    Feel:
    5/5,
    Value:
    5/5,
    Pros
    • + Well balanced; smooth neck; tonal options
    Cons
    • - Fret dots (on top of neck) not highly visible
    This is my first electric bass, so take my words for what they're worth. When I was shopping around, I was looking mainly at feel. This instrument totally captivated me.

    The way this bass hangs, it's naturally balanced. My picking hand lays flat and in a neutral position. I don't feel like I'm reaching for the first fret. It is very comfortable to play.

    Tonally, separate volume knobs for the two pickups give you a wide range of options. You can go all neck or all bridge or any combination in between. The bridge pickup by itself gives you a very clean and snappy sound. Turn up the tone and slap away. The neck (or middle) pickup by itself gives you a more subdued, warm tone. A "vintage" tone, if you will. Turn down the tone and all string noise seems to disappear.

    I ordered mine online and when I got it, the set up was spot on. The neck relief was perfect and the action up and down the neck and from string to string was perfect. I verified everything according to the Fender Bass Guitar Setup Guide.

    The body is made up of three pieces of maple. I have the natural finish. Looking at the back, both seams are not glaringly obvious. The grain is matched really well and at first glance you'd think it was one solid piece of wood.

    The neck is very smooth and plays really well. The fret edges are not sharp and do not stick out at all. One of the first songs I played on it when I tried one at a store was "Steal My Kisses", by Ben Harper. The slide up to the 17th fret was nice and easy. I had a cheap acoustic bass that scraped some raw spots on my fingers from learning this song and doing that slide. The Squier was like butter in comparison. Just another nice example of the workmanship of this bass.

    One thing that has bothered me are the fret dots on the top of the neck. They are white and sit half and half across the maple neck and the black binding. You can see half of a dot against the blank but they disappear against the maple. And in poor lighting, any light reflecting off the top of the frets distracts my eyes and everything looks like a fret dot at first glance.

    Overall, this bass is a pleasure to own and play. When you look at it and play it, you would swear you were playing an instrument that was at least three times the price. It is that good, in my opinion. I have not found one flaw in this instrument (other than the fret dots), whether in workmanship or design. It's very impressive when you consider what you pay for it.
    Price Paid:
    299.99
    tilt724 likes this.
Loading...