Double E
upload_2018-11-22_0-52-27.png
Double E
upload_2018-11-22_0-52-27.png
upload_2018-11-22_0-52-59.png
upload_2018-11-22_0-53-28.png

Yamaha Bb414 4 String Bass

5/5, 5 from 2 reviews
upload_2018-11-22_0-52-27.png upload_2018-11-22_0-52-59.png upload_2018-11-22_0-53-28.png

Recent Reviews

  1. bigmatteo
    the beast !!
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Nov 24, 2021
    Tone:
    5.00/5,
    Build Quality:
    5.00/5,
    Features:
    5.00/5,
    Feel:
    5.00/5,
    Value:
    5.00/5,
    Pros
    • + great sound and playability
    Cons
    • - is not light, but the sound is a lot
    This is the third yamaha bass that i bought in less than one year, my collection is composed by bb6, trb1006j and bb414.

    This is the bass with best tone, that i have as passive bass, better than a warwick streamer standard first series, that was made in germany 20 years ago, fat humbucker and a single coil that sing, the best single coil i heard in 30+ year playing.

    I like the sound powerfull on all pick up, the 2 pot 1 vol 1 tone + 1 switch probably is not flexible like 2 vol and 1 tone pot but i don't feel this lack.

    I don't play it with flatwound strings, but i can't imagine it sound with flatwound string.

    Today you can find it on used market a -50% or less, of the original price when in production, think about it instead Squire, Cort or some ibanez.
    Price Paid:
    250 euro used
  2. Double E
    The Black Pearl
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Nov 22, 2018
    Tone:
    4.00/5,
    Build Quality:
    5.00/5,
    Features:
    4.00/5,
    Feel:
    5.00/5,
    Value:
    5.00/5,
    Pros
    • + Classic design
    • + Reliable
    Cons
    • - Noisy single coil
    This budget bass is a no brainer as a starter bass or a good solid player for a working musician.

    I was gifted this bass several years ago and it really holds its own... I have enjoyed many basses but this instrument could easily be my #1. The PJ config delivers and the basic controls provide all you really need. The only drawback I can think of is the single coil bridge pickup being a bit noisy.

    I rarely have to adjust this, it lives up to Yamaha's stellar reputation for good quality instruments.

    The alder, maple, rosewood construction meets the basic formula for a classic design.

    The neck profile is very comfortable, a shallow C shape and a 1 5/8" nut width.

    It just works.
    Price Paid:
    $190

Bass Details

  1. No. of Frets:
    21
    Construction:
    Bolt-On
    Active or Passive:
    Passive
    Scale Length:
    34"
    No. of Strings:
    4
    Yamaha BB414

    For more than 20 years, the Yamaha BB Series basses have been the workhorse for great bass players like Nathan East, tony Kanal, Michael Anthony, and Lee Sklar. Through the years, these players have relied on Yamaha's BB Basses to deliver that deep, warm thump that has become the hallmark Yamaha bass sound. Now Yamaha has reinvented the bass that started it all. The new BB Series basses boast all the classic characteristics of the original BBs, from the distinctive big body design and bolt-on neck to the vintage-style hardware and soapbar and split-coil pickups. With the addition of state-of-the-art manufacturing techniques, the new BB Series is destined to become an instant classic.

    BB 414 Full Specs

    Body Wood - Alder
    Bridge Pickup Type - Single Coil
    Middle Pickup Type - P Pickup
    Controls - Volume, Tone
    Neck Wood - Maple
    Neck Joint - Bolt-on
    Fingerboard Material - Rosewood
    Number of Frets - 21
    Fingerboard Inlays - Abalone Oval
    Hardware - Chrome
    Number of Strings - 4
    Scale Length - 34"
    Fingerboard Radius - 10.00"
    Tuners - Vintage Style
    Pickup Switch Type - 3-way Pickup Selector


    upload_2018-11-22_0-52-27.png

    upload_2018-11-22_0-52-59.png

    upload_2018-11-22_0-53-28.png
    gvbassman likes this.

    Share Bass

Loading...