Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

0 Fret

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by mac_the_sac, Sep 22, 2002.

1. What is a 0 fret and what is its purpose?

Thanks

2. A zero fret is an extra fret at the nut and I think it's only purpose is to dimnish the difference between a fretted note and an open string. Paul McCartney had one on his Hofner, I don't know about the Rick.

3. i think the main purpose of the 0 fret originally was for slide guitar... then people realized that the open strings had a tone much closer to that of a fretted note... so some people really liked having them... thats how they ended up on a bass... Im no expert but I'm about 85% certain thats how they came about.

4. Benbass

Benbass

Jan 28, 2002
    Kansas
    While we're on the subject, does any one know how they adjust the string height where the nut would be on a bass with a zero fret? Do they file down the fret??

5. Suburban

Suburban

Jan 15, 2001
    lower mid Sweden
    well...
    If you need frets, the zero fret makes it into one, continuous instrument. It is always string-to-metal, and the problem with overstretched strings when palying first fret is gone.
    This fret is treated just like any fret, when set up.

Actually, this is a very old idea. Used on most fretted instruments, until someone thought they could possibly build cheaper but sell at the same price:rolleyes:

6. pilotjones

pilotjones Supporting Member

Nov 8, 2001
    US-NY-NYC
    Having a zero fret changes the instrument so that the nut only has to do the job of maintaining the separation of the strings. In a non-zero-fret instrument, the nut is additionally acting as the zero fret, that is, as the witness point (functional end of the vibrating portion of the string) when you play an open string.