1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

1/4 Cable dilemma

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by QBA, Apr 22, 2010.

1. QBA

QBA

Apr 22, 2010
    Hello to everyone :)

Sorry that this thread probably doesn't belong in this section or maybe even in this forum, because unfortunately I'm not a musician, but I love music and that is what got me here :)

I'm trying to buy the right 50 feet cable to be able to listen music on the living room, from my receiver that is hiding on the basement.

I though it will be a straight forward process of buying a 50 foot 1/4 male to male cable and a 1/4 wall plate, with a female connector for the headphones. I know the wall plate complicated things and create an extra connection, but I'm planning to install the wall plate on the living room wall and hide the cables inside the wall, that will go from the front of the receiver in the basement, to the back of the wall plate in the living room.

My dilemma is that I keep reading on the internet about balanced, unbalanced, TRS and so many other terminologies that I'm not familiar with, and people keep telling me not to buy balance cables because it add noise to the sound if I use it for headphones, or to buy it because they work great with headphones ect. All that is making it really difficult for me to decided what cable to buy.

I just hope that people will your expertise can help me to sort it all out.

Hardware:
    ========

Receiver:
    Located on the basement
    http://www.yamaha.ca/av/receivers/HTR6190B.jsp

Wall Plate:
    It will be on the living room, where I will be connecting the headphones
    http://www.monoprice.com/products/p...=10425&cs_id=1042504&p_id=6356&seq=1&format=2

Cable:
    I'm planning to buy this 50 foot cable to connect it from the front of the receiver to the back of the wall plate