1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

1 Cab Solution - Why Not A 15/12/6?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Thumper, Mar 23, 2013.

1. Thumper

Thumper

Mar 22, 2000
    Syracuse Ut
    I've spent alot of time on this forum since December, and in some ways am more confused than ever!

Some say: 15/6 with 15 sub or second 15/6
    Some say: 12/6 with 12 sub or second 12/6
    Some say: 15/6 with 12/6
    Some say: 12/12/6 or 15/15/6 or 212 or 215 or some derivative (GlassTone, Xsonic)

Is a 1 Cab Solution under 70 lbs (maybe composite) even feasible?

After reading many threads, and all the pointy headed controversy which is over my head as I'm not an electrical engineer, I was thinking:

How about a 15/12/6 in 4 ohms with the lightest possible weight? Say a crossover for the 15 at X, another for the 12 to do the punchy stuff at X, and then of course the 6 at whatever is left. My reasoning because I've read the 3015LF does the deepest lows, and the 3012LF or HO has more pleasing (less nasally mids). Ands as I've stated in other threads, no tweeters needed in my world.

Then I could have my small/medium venue Markbass rig and a large venue/outdoors rig, and even run both rigs for large events with no PA support using both LMII heads.

Or must I just resign myself to having the cost and double schlepping of 2 cabs for an ultimate LARGE volume rig? Of course if this is already available, my bad.

2. BassmanPaul

BassmanPaul Gold Supporting Member

Aug 25, 2007
    Toronto Ontario Canada
    The 12 would add nothing to the equation. A 15 can easily go high enough for the 6 to take over.

3. ::::BASSIST::::

::::BASSIST:::: Progress Not Perfection.

Sep 2, 2004
    Vancouver, BC Canada