1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

1 fret makes bass rattle + good tech in San Francisco?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Pheeleep, Apr 9, 2009.

1. Pheeleep

Pheeleep

Apr 9, 2009
    Hello,

This is my first post in this forum :) Glad to be here. I've been reading posts for a few weeks now and decided to finally ask my question :)

I recently bought my first electric bass guitar ( Squier by Fender Jazz Bass. Affinity series. Made in China ). I am having loads of fun with it. Keep in mind, I'm an absolute beginner. I have been making electronic music for many years, played the violin for over 10 years. Also played the guitar for about 1 year, but the bass guitar is completely new to me. I wish I had bought one ages ago! Those are some deep sounds...

I am having a blast trying to play "Air" and "Zero7" bass lines. Those 2 bands are what made we want to start playing bass. I spend most of the time messing around and coming up with some cool short, repetitive bass lines. That is until I start taking classes :)

Anyway, one thing is bothering me. The 8th fret (C) of the E string makes the bass rattle when I pluck it more than slightly. I don't have this issue with any of the other frets on any other string.

The rattling sound gets recorded ( I plug the bass direct into a Digital interface that has a guitar preamp built in and record in FL Studio).

If I play the bass acoustically (unplugged), I also hear the rattling. It's quite pronounced...

I tried putting a piece of paper below the E string on the nut. I read about someone doing that and it helping, but that didn't work for me.