1 year old bassist

Discussion in 'Recordings [BG]' started by zilla04, Jan 22, 2001.

1. zilla04

Feb 11, 2000
    Today, 01/22/01, is one year to the day that I first played bass, so I'm a one year old bassist. I was wondering what it was like for all you veteran bassist when you hit the one year mark, like what songs you knew and if you ever thought you would get as good as you are now?
  2. I guess, after having played bass for (just) one year (the number is 8 now), I was really focusing on what I couldn't do, rather than what I could. If you told me, then, that I would play the bass I play now, the way that I play now, I'd laugh in yer face and call you an idiot.

But to answer the question: I couldn't do nothing, compared to what I can do now.
  3. john turner

john turner You don't want to do that. Trust me. Staff Member Administrator

Mar 14, 2000
    atlanta ga
    i celebrated my 1 year playing anniversary by playing some rush tunes, including yyz, at a party - yyz was a sort-of benchmark for me back then.

at 2 years it was hemispheres (the song) and school days (stanley clarke) or at least as much of school days as i could play on a rickenbacker. :D
  4. JimK

Dec 12, 1999
    ...sheesh; at one-year, I was still workin' on playin' the major scale with more than ONE finger on my fretting hand...
    Really, I didn't begin to commit myself & get disciplined until the Summer of '74(a year & 1/2 after getting a bass on Christmas '72). I spent, literally, 8-10 hours per day learning to play that Summer(while my more talented friends spent the days at the beach/pool).
  5. Boplicity

Boplicity Supporting Member

Interesting topic, but I think it suits another forum better. Maybe "Miscellaneous." I'll leave this here until tomorrow, then I will move it to Miscellaneous. OK?