1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

12" speakers?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by bassmasta18, Aug 23, 2007.

1. bassmasta18

bassmasta18

Jun 8, 2007
    Ireland
    I am looking to get my first cab/head amp. 10's and 15's seem to be the most common speaker sizes. Im a total noob wen it comes to amplification so excuse my ignorance. I am afraid a 210 wont handle my 6er and that a 115 will be too 'sub-woofy' so i figuered a Eden nemesis 212 cab would meet my needs. 12's seem to be descibed as mid-orientated speakers, that suits me but im afraid it wont be clear. my current combo amp is a crappy 60watt behringer with a 12'' speaker, its loud for 60watts but playing solo its terribly unclear. am I wrong to base my judgements of 12'' speakers on my combo or is bad clarity a common characteristic of 12" speakers?? 

2. smogg

smogg

Mar 27, 2007
    NPR, Florida
    I'm not crazy, I'm just a little unwell
    ya really gotta test a bunch of rigs in your price range with YOUR BASS then let your ears decide....have fun

3. Foxworthy925

Foxworthy925 Guest

Feb 24, 2007
    Bay Area, CA
    I played a behringer combo at a friend's band practice (it was his amp) that was 180watts, 1X12. I HATED it. no matter what I did to anything, I could not get a good clear defined sound. everything sounded like mud: all the notes were undefined and sloppy. I posted about my experience here on talkbass and people said that it was probably due to the aluminum cone it had. don't pre judge all 12" speakers based on one bad experience. 12's are great and there are tons of amazing 2x12 cabs out there. I personally don't know which ones, so you'll have to get other peoples' advice about that.

4. RickenBoogie

RickenBoogie

Jul 22, 2007
    Dallas, TX