12" vs 15"

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Zerozeddy, Oct 4, 2005.

1. Debating about buying an Ashdown Electric Blue with 12", has reasonable reviews in the main, but I'm a tad concerned that a 12" speaker is intrinsically insufficient for a good tone (they also do a 15" version of course, but pushing things beyond my budget coz I poor).

Any opinions? I'd be playing an Ashbory through it and want a warm, round sound.

2. hmmmm.... I think you may find some resistance to that statement here on TB

I personally think that if you are gonna have just one speaker, then a 12 is the one to have - in fact, especially if you are gonna have just one speaker!
  3. jock

Jun 7, 2000
    Stockholm, Sweden
    ... but the 15" will be louder and deeper as it puches more air.
  4. True, but IME 15s are usually slower and not as full range as 12s - the 12s are often more sensitive as well...

I have no experience with the ashdown cabs however, so best idea it to try it for yourself...
  5. jock

Jun 7, 2000
    Stockholm, Sweden
    In any case the 15 version I tried sonded surprisingly good and is a superb value for money combo. I haven´t tried the 12" but remember I´m a fan of 15" speakers as I go for old school sounds.
  6. go with watever your ear tells you :)
  7. Hard to make an aural decision when buying online however (esp if can't find said models in the real world to try first).

I didn't realise 12 vs 15 was such a contentious subject!
  8. billfitzmaurice

billfitzmaurice Commercial User

Sep 15, 2004
    New Hampshire
    Owner, Bill Fitzmaurice Loudspeaker Design