1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

12ax7 SHOOTOUT!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Bean639, Jan 14, 2012.

1. Bean639

Bean639

Aug 18, 2010
    Richmond, Va
    I am starting my research for a nice single 12ax7 for my EdenWT800. As far as tubes go I am quickly realizing that I am basically a NOOB. Usually that's okay because I always have the world wide web at my disposal. ONE PROBLEM. gui****s have totally overrun the net with reviews. (not surprised really) As of now I'm just reading gui****s reviews and hoping it will pretty much translate to a bass amp. Good idea???

I have found two tubes that interest me so far.
    - Gold Lion (reissue) $40
    - Mullard Blackburn (1964) $65

Any other suggestions?
    How do other TBers feel about buying a 45year old tube off of Ebay :meh:

Most important. Do these audio forum/guitar forum reviews translate into bass very well???

I understand that my amp is a hybrid (weak on the tube side), but I have been playing with tubes lately and it does make quite the difference.

I did some searches and had trouble finding much of anything on these subjects. Since I'm pretty much a tube noob :)D) any kind of discussion would be productive for me.

Thanks again TB :bassist::bassist::bassist:

2. 4-string

4-string

Jul 23, 2006
    Norway
    For your WT800 I would suggest JJ, just something that works and is reliable.

Buying vintage, NOS or other very expensive tubes makes no sense IMO. The single pre tube in that and similar amps tend to sound the same IME/IMO.

YMMV of course.

3. JGR

JGR The "G" is for Gustav Supporting Member Commercial User

Jun 29, 2006
    Maryland
    President, CEO, CFO, CIO, Chief Engineer, Technician, Janitor - Reiner Amplification