12's or 15's?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by 4Saken, May 21, 2005.

1. 4Saken

Nov 7, 2004
    I am a beginner bassist and looking for amp and cab that will be able to be played at small to medium gigs eventually. I play heavy rock/ metal and have a 5 string bass. I am thinking about getting a behringer bxt300 head and this cabinet: http://store.steelsound.com/Detail.bok?no=1413 but a friend of mine who is an accomplished signed national act musician tells me i should use 15's. I was just curious on some feed back on what people on this forum thought about the 12's and what the differences might be.

P.S. I have no interest in the sound of tens!
  2. protoz

Nov 30, 2000
    I like the sound of 15's personally but I haven't tried 12s at all and I go for that old school tone so 15s are a must.
  3. incognito89x

incognito89x ♪♫♪ ♪ ♪ ♫&#983

Sep 22, 2002
    Royal Oak, Michigan
    If you're just going with 1 sized speaker the 12's are a great comprimise between the lows of a 15 and the highs of a 10. Read the reviews around and there are a lot of great things said about the Aguilar, Eden, and other 1x12 cabs (or 2x12 as well)
  4. seanm

seanm I'd kill for a Nobel Peace Prize! Supporting Member

Feb 19, 2004
    Ottawa, Canada
    The difference is very personal. I personally tend to prefer 12s over 15s, assuming the same quality. For lower quality speakers, I would choose 12s. Cheap 15s tend to be very muddy.
  5. James Hart

James Hart

Feb 1, 2002
    Endorsing Artist: see profile
    I've prefered the tone of ported 12" driver cabinets for the most part since the 80s. I've run them alone or mixed with 18", 15" and currently with 10"... but alway at least one 12" in the mix
  6. Plain Old Me

Plain Old Me

Dec 14, 2004
    Here is a warning: