Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

15" speaker replacement recommendation

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by andysvec, Aug 28, 2004.

1. andysvec

andysvec Supporting Member

Aug 15, 2004
    Guam
    Hello all, I'm a newbie here with a quick question.
    I need a replacement speaker for my old trusty Randall RB100 combo amp (bought it new back in early 90s, just a plain 100watt low/mid/high/compressor with one 15. On the back there's two speaker out jacks that say 60watts to 8ohms, 100 to 4 ohms). I have lots of nicer gear (trace, swr, etc.) but find myself using this amp constantly because of it's portability and decent sound, the older I get I've noticed my goal is to make it from the car to the stage in one trip!
    Anyway, the original Jaguar speaker desinagrated a few years back, and I had a peavey black widow lying around I put in (much bigger magnet and power capability, but sounded fine). About a year later I started noticing some distortion with that one so I bought a speaker from musicians friend, think it was a fender 150watt (I figured maybe the peavey was too much speaker for the amp). This new one really distorted, so I put the black widow back in. I'm not real sure if it is the speaker or the amp, everything sounds great at low volumes but when cranking it up a bit I notice the distortion, not as bad with the black widow but terrible with the fender. The black widow did sound great for about a year, but was old also.
    So I guess there's two questions here:
    - is there any way to tell if it is something with the amp or the speaker thats causing the distortion?