Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

18" cabs?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Thurisarz, Dec 18, 2004.

1. Thurisarz

Thurisarz

Aug 20, 2004
    I'm looking for a good 18" cab but i'm a poor student and don't really have much cash, i looked thru some catalogues i got and searched the internet but it seems Hartke is the only one that i can get (I live in sweden), Avatar isn't available here.

Has anyone got/tried the Hartke "1800" cab?

Thanks! :bassist:

PS: Swedish company EBS doesn't make 18" cabs, that's weird....

2. xb100

xb100

Mar 24, 2004
    NH, In
    Bag End, Eden, and SWR all make 18'' cabs.

Probobly be alot of $$ to ship it to ya though.
    Just some extra info in case you wanted any different brands.

3. Thurisarz

Thurisarz

Aug 20, 2004
    Eden and SWR is available but cost alot more then the Hartke

4. cb56

cb56

Jul 2, 2000
    Central Illinois
    4 ohm 18 cab.

5. Gabu

Gabu

Jan 2, 2001
    Lake Elsinore, CA
    Carvin makes an 18" cab that will probably cost less than many of the previous ones mentioned. Ampeg has one, but its discontinued so you would have to search for used.

6. Thurisarz

Thurisarz

Aug 20, 2004
    Have you tried it? what did you think of it?

7. cb56

cb56

Jul 2, 2000
    Central Illinois
    The old Ampeg 8 ohm 175 watt cab is discontinued.
    The new 4 ohm 500 watt 18 cab is very available.

8. I used to have a Carvin 18. I really was unimpressed. It didnt go as low as my Mesa 15. and it was really muddy. so far I havent found an 18 that I like. I am not a 10 are the only way to go guy either.. I currently use 2 1x15 cabs. 18 are just to muddy for me.

9. Ilovepink

Ilovepink Banned

Nov 17, 2003
    California
    JBL Professional 18" powered subwoofer.

10. csholtmeier

csholtmeier

Feb 8, 2004
    omaha, ne