1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

18's, what do you think of them?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by beatsbears, Feb 12, 2013.

1. beatsbears

beatsbears

Feb 22, 2011
    Portland, ME
    I'm looking to take my current set up to the next level, and add a cab to my 412 setup. I currently have an Emperor with a Mesa 400 driving it. I'd like to either add a matching 115, 212, or 118 to my rig. The 18 intrigues me greatly, but I have no experience with them. All 3 are fairly close in price so that isn't really a concern.

I may also want to use this new cab alone when a show doesn't call for a full stack, so how would an 18 do solo.

I know mixing driver sizes isn't recommended by many TBers, but i've seen it done by many to fine results, so that isn't really a concern either.

Thanks!

2. I would pick the 212, with twice the impedance of your 412. This would give you a 612 rig with equal power distribution.

3. This :bassist:

4. You'd need to really test out the 18 cab to see if it can keep up with the other drivers. The 18's tend to run out sooner than 212's. As for using the 18 solo - you'll just need to audition the cab. Can Emperor make a 212 for you ?

5. Larger speakers tend to project more. I used 18's once, and liked them for their thump and how well they could fill a larger room, but I could not hear them well on stage. If I turned up my amp so I could hear them, I was rattling the room. I think you will find that 1 18 won't sound "loud" to you, if you are close to the cabinet.

You may like the 2-12 more, if you are playing smaller rooms and with PA support.

6. +2 This is the only way to roll with your specified cabinet choices.

Better yet would be a second 4x12 identical to your first.

7. +1
    :D

8. powmetalbassist

powmetalbassist Supporting Member

Heavy