1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

1940ish Kay

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by flatline, Aug 14, 2007.

1. flatline

flatline

Aug 14, 2007
    Hi,
    Got a line on a 1940s kay. Its an orchestra model. Heel was professionally repaired at some point in its life. It is a gigging bass, so it has been setup and is in playable condition.
    Seller is looking for 800ish, with a stand and bag.

I'm a newbie to DB, but I have been playing electric for ~12 years.

Is this a good deal?

Also, any links to teachers in CT?

2. drurb

drurb Oracle, Ancient Order of Rass Hattur; Mem. #1, EPC

Apr 17, 2004
    Can you post pix?

3. Standalone

Standalone

Jan 17, 2005
    New Haven
    :bag:

I'm thinking this is my bass, currently up fs here and in the local CL, and I just wanted to let you TB DB'ers know that you should feel free to talk about it here. I'll go look at the rules to see whether it's appropriate to make comments here. I do want whoever gets it to be steered right. Hopefully to enjoy the bass as I have!

There are pics of the heel break and dowels in the fs thread for reference.

4. Unless Standalone can give quotes for repairs the bass may require, only a qualified luthier can say for sure how good a deal it is. The neck is a potentially big issue, but he says it's stable. I would assume it's been that way for a while, right Standalone? So we can probably assume that's ok. But he did say it would probably need a new fingerboard in order to make any significant downward changes to the string height. That will run anywhere from a few hundred to a thousand or so, depending on the quality of the material and the luthier that does the work.