1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

1969 Fender Precision... need some advice and help

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Thumb n Fingers, Aug 29, 2017.

1. Thumb n Fingers

Thumb n Fingers

Dec 15, 2016
    I'll try keep it somewhat brief, but thru a series of friends I was asked to set up the bass below. I'm no professional by any stretch, but I can get a pretty good set up going on just about any guitar or bass that happens my way. It appears to be a 1969 Fender Precision with a "no-name E-bay purchased neck" added to it. Setting it up was a snap, but got me wondering how closely restorable is this bass to original condition? The investment the owner said he has in it was about $200.00 back 10 years ago, so he would perhaps be interested in spending some money on it IF he could then resell it for a marginal profit. I'm trying to steer him in the right direction and just information gathering at this point.

Right off the bat, it's missing the ashtray over the bridge and the pickup cover plate. Pickups and knobs are all in fine working condition. The finish is, well, driven hard and put back wet so to speak, but nothing too bad for a bass that is as old as I am and has certainly been loved hard.

The original neck was in the case with the bass. The tuners were pulled off and put on the new neck, as well as the button string tree. Somewhere, before the current owner had this, someone stripped off all of the frets. it appears that they tried to fill in the fret lines with wood putty, as it's dried and mostly crumbled out at this point. It also appears that the truss rod is stripped.