1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

1978 Precision help (picture heavy)

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Waltsdog, Dec 23, 2016.

1. Waltsdog

Waltsdog Supporting Member

Feb 21, 2009
    Ottawa, ON
    Looking for some advice on this bass, it appears to me to be a legit and mostly original '78 with an odd refinish and a replacement pickguard. Oh and a terrible sticker that I removed but has left its mark :(
    Any Fender experts care to weigh in?

Attached Files:

2. I'm not an expert (they'll chime in for sure), but I like it. How does it play?
    If it was mine, I would look for a Ramones sticker to put on that.

3. Looks legit to me (I own a '78 Jazz). What is so odd about the finish? Looks like my olympic white. OK it is a bit to white under the pickguard / control plate.

4. 79 pots
    80 pickups

I would call it an 1980 Precision.

5. Waltsdog

Feb 21, 2009
    Ottawa, ON
    You can see in the pics that there is white over the screw in the cavity. Also the spots where the finish is worn to the wood still have clear on them. So I think it was a natural that was painted white some time ago.

Ellery likes this.
  6. You're 100% right. I'm a bit confused now, 'cause the white in the control cavity is real white, whereas the body looks exactly like olympic white basses from that area. And we're not talking nitro finishes, we're talking poly. If your bass is a refinish it is very well done.
    This is my not-refinished all original '78 Jazz:
    78%20jazz%202016-02-23%2021.36.12.

Tbone76 and StayLow like this.
  7. Waltsdog

Feb 21, 2009
    Ottawa, ON
    Thanks I knew it would be somewhere between 78 and 81 ish. Just don't know how to decipher those pickup and pot codes.

Aqualung60 and FenderOli like this.
  8. Waltsdog

Feb 21, 2009
    Ottawa, ON
    That's a nice jazz!