1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

1998 Music Man Stingray?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by verycoolname, Mar 10, 2013.

1. verycoolname

verycoolname

Jan 28, 2013
    VA/PA
    I was just browsing around eBay looking at basses and saw this listing. The first thing I noticed was the finish, which I personally find quite awesome. I'm no expert on Stingray basses (I've never owned one, only played a few in stores) and I was only about 2/3 years old when this particular model came out, so I'm looking on any details regarding the specs of this bass, because the seller wasn't exactly clear in their ad...maybe that's why no one has bid on it.

Or maybe it's just because the guy used Comic Sans :bag:

$(KGrHqN,!rEFEJ19cBolBRNr0H2OKg~~60_57.

2. looks like a regular late '90s Stingray in transparent teal finish, with 3 band EQ. Looks nice.

3. +1 - quite a popular colour and looks cool.

If you get the serial number and post in the serial numbers thread on the EB Musicman bass forum, they'll give you the DOB, colour and original specs - thus helping check authenticity.

4. Mike Sorr

Mike Sorr “...play I some music...” Supporting Member

Oct 24, 2012
    Brick, NJ
    Had this exact same bass but with a transparent pickguard. If not for a 72 Jazz bass that became available I'd still own it. Great instrument and one of the few that I actually bought brand new. I don't see this color so much anymore, but I'd love to have another.

5. svtb15

svtb15

Mar 22, 2004
    Austin,TX - McKinney,TX - NY,NY, - Nashville,TN
    I play it all. Whatever works for the gig
    IIRC a 98 should have the old style larger bridge with string mutes on the Stingray.... But i could be wrong.. My 97 had the larger bridge with mutes...

6. DIscontinued as a new colour option two or three years ago IIRC.