1st Bass - Package?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by TooLemaN, Dec 12, 2004.

1. TooLemaN

Dec 12, 2004
    Im new to the bass, and I know practically nothing about what products are good, so I need help picking out a bass and amp seeing as how I know little about each. I don't want to spend a fortune (this being my 1st bass), but I'd like something that will last. I was looking into buying a Squier Affinity Bass Package for $299, which my friend recommended. Would this be a wise investment, or should I pick out my own equipment? And if so what product(s) would be good? I'd like to have either a Fender or Squier bass. Thank you in advance!
  2. FunkinA

Sep 13, 2003
    Youre login is iriely close to my name/nickname my name is Liam Toole AKA Leemin.

As far as a bass package goes it might be a good idea for a you to get a package... if you stick with bass playing than you could get nicer gear later. you might also want to check out some used gear to save some money. A squire package wouldn't be a bad choice and i would recomend a jazz bass over a pbass but thats just my opinion. i bought a pbass when i first started playing then soon after i wished got a jazz.
  3. bluemonk

Dec 17, 2002
    This question comes up every so often and the view tends to be that you should not get a package. The packages are just cheap stuff and the amp in them is usually true crap. Plus, if you move on to something after playing for a while, it's not likely that you'll get much $$ out of the stuff on resale.

Instead, get either an SX bass (www.rondomusic.net) or a used precision or jazz Fender. Practice amps can be gotten cheaply, either at pawn shops or new, for around $100 or so.
  4. Cerb

Sep 27, 2004