1st live gig NERVOUS/SCARED

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by willwonka, Jun 7, 2004.

1. We have a option to do a local outdoor festival, around home, theres about 7 band, there will be about 200 people there, mostley younger crowd.

Now how do you know if your ready? I started playing bass a couple of years ago, which got me interested in music in general, have a ton of fun playing, but the thought of going in front of a crowd makes me nervous as hell. They asked us to play a few songs before the headliners go on, which are the guys putting the show on. Our drummer is a bit sloppy, just due to the fact that he dosnt get much time to practice due to work, Our guitarist, just started playing a year ago, but getting the hang of it, and said he would be ready to give it a shot, but he dosnt know any covers, so when he started playing we would come up with jams then I would write words, so we mostley play our own stuff, which is only 6 or 7 songs, anyways, and we only need to do 3 song. BUT....!!!! on the songs we decided we would do if we do the show, I play guitar on as well (and Im just learning to play (4 weeks i have been playing)) AND...! I will be singing as well , which I have just began to do the last month as well (have had 4 singing lessons just, never sang before) and trying to combine the 2 I find takes a lot of concentration.

I dont think we are quite ready, but I hate to pass up a opportunity that I would latter regrett if we didnt do, since this will be the last year the festival will probably run.

now the concerns.....

-Im worried I will go blank and forget the words to the songs.
    -or that the timming will be horrible
    -worried my singing wont be good enough, since I just started to do it.