1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

1st Time using In Ear Monitors

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by LowNloud1, Feb 16, 2016.

1. LowNloud1

LowNloud1 Commercial User

Jun 11, 2012
    Wilmington NC
    I am a hobbyist making stone picks that I occasionally sell but mostly give away. They made me do this anyways.
    We had our first fully wireless IEM practice session tonight and overall I am very glad we have the IEMs.

We have 2 Shure PSM300 xmtrs on the same frequency but we synced me and the drummer to one and the other guitarists and singers to the other. We all have the Shure P3RA receivers. Guitarists have the Shure SE 215 earbuds that came with the xmtr. Drummer and bassist (me) bought the Shure SE315's to get better low end.

I did bring one splitter because a member said he had another but he did not find it so we fed one xmtr off the other to make sure everything worked.

We really only needed one transmitter for tonite.

The guitars and vocals were on left channel and bass was on both but heavier on the right channel. Drums were kept on the right channel along with bass and my vocal.

We set them up with Mix Mode instead of Stereo so we could balance between left and right to our own taste. I set my receiver to emphasize the bass and my vocal and had the other vocals and guitars to where I could hear them nicely balanced.

It was difficult to hear at first. I was hearing a lot of bass distortion and we were overdriving the transmitters. We turned the input down and that cleared the distortion. I also discovered that I had not set my earbud correctly into my ear but once I got it set properly, the clarity was absolutely amazing. I cannot say enough good things about using the white triple flanged sleeves. Made all the difference in providing great bass response and clear, clean sound for me.