Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

2-finger right hand technique

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by endorka, Nov 29, 2004.

1. endorka

endorka

Oct 15, 2004
    Glasgow, Scotland
    I use an alternating 2 finger right hand picking technique, and playing the verse of "Come On, Come Over" recently illustrated an "interesting" aspect of my technique. I've always started a passage with my index finger, and then the middle, then index, and so on. However, I was struggling a bit with this bassline and for a laugh tried playing it starting with the middle, and then the index. Amazing! Immediately it was easier to play and the groove was stronger. A quick Internet search revealed that this is indeed the right thing - I can't believe I've been doing the wrong thing for 16 years!

So I'm practicing to change my technique to this method, and think that it would be worth investigating further. Some advocates of the alternating 2 finger technique state that the fingers should *always* alternate; this can have the effect of inverting certain repeated passages, however, so that one time you start it with the index and the other with the middle. Not really a problem per se, if one has proper independence, and I can see the benefit for speedy passages, but presumably there is a point where it gets a bit silly, e.g. after a long rest, and it is best to "reset" the finger to start again on the middle. Or is it?

Something else I've always liked is how you get a pluck for free if the next note is on the string below (i.e. deeper) the one you are currently plucking. No need to alternate the plucking finger in this case then. But what about two strings below? The benefit of the free pluck seems to be reduced somewhat, so should one alternate the plucking finger in this case?