Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

2 guitarists are burying me!!! Help!

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by bigcardinal, Dec 14, 2005.

1. Hello all! I'm new to this sight, and reasonably new to bass as well, and I have a technical question about being heard in the mix. I play with this hard rock band with 2 guitarists that are extremely loud. I have a pretty loud amp and can't figure out what are/is the problems that are keeping the bass down. Let me describe my settup and situation so that you can help me out with your advice:
    1) Bass: Squier Bronco, replaced stock pu with a stack guitar humbucker I had laying around (no more noise)
    2) Amp: Yorkville XM200: 200 watt, 15" combo
    3) Practice environment: A small room (maybe 10' x 20') in the basement of a house, carpeted floor
    4) The competition: 2 x 80 watt solid state guitar amps and a hard hitting drummer

I have a few ideas of where the problems might lie, but any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

2. Stihl makes great chainsaws....

[​IMG]

a proper application of a quality chainsaw eliminates most guitarist problems :D

3. Juniorkimbrough

Juniorkimbrough

Mar 22, 2005
    Mississippi / Memphis, TN
    Endorsing Artist: Lakland Basses
    how are you eq'ing your amp?

turn the mids up and the bass down

4. It's probably the guitar humbucker, slap a bass one in there.

5. Andy Brown

Andy Brown Supporting Member

Jul 23, 2004
    Rhode Island
    Founder: Wing Bass
    You're probably competing with the bass frequencies of the guitars, kick drum, and toms. I've had great success with asking my guitarist to turn his bass levels down a little bit (a tad below flat so he's out of my range), turning my bass down a little (to get out of the way of the kick), then turning up the mids (where nobody else should be). Worked like a charm.