2 Neck and Pocket Questions

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Quadzilla, Apr 8, 2005.

1. Quadzilla

Quadzilla Supporting Member

Hello all,

I'm new to putting basses together but am pretty darn mechanically inclined. I bought a body and neck that were both designed for 34" scale. Here is my issues/questions:

1 - The neck is 2 1/2" wide as is the pocket (2 1/2" wide also), so the neck won't quite fit. Should I sand the neck or the pocket or both to make it fit?

2 - The neck is 15/16ths thick where it goes into the pocket and the pocket is is 5/8" deep. Does this seem about right? Will I need to shim the neck or take some material off of the neck?

I'm sure I'll have more questions as this project goes on, but this is for starters. Here are links to the body and neck I bought (I have them here at my house now if you need me to measure more).

2. teej

Aug 19, 2004
    Sheffield, AL 35660
    I would sand the neck pocket, if you only need to remove very little. If you've got 1/8" on both sides, a flat file may be in order, but be careful not to remove material unevenly -- naturally, you'll want the neck to be as centered as can be.

5/8" - Is that the thickness of the neck with or without the fingerboard? I'd say try getting the neck to fit and see if the thickness looks OK, but that wouldn't be good if you can return it.
  3. Quad, you're fine for now as far as the pocket depth is concerned. You won't be able to tell different until you get all of your hardware together, get it assembled in a mockup and start seeing how the heights are going to align between the bridge, pups, neck and nut.