Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

2 questions about upgrading to a Power/Pre setup

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by echo008, Apr 27, 2005.

1. echo008

echo008 Supporting Member

Jan 30, 2004
    Long Island, NY
    I am going to be upgrading my setup from an Eden wt400 to a power amp /pre amp setup this month. Since this is my first time out with a setup like this I wanted to ask ahead of time what kind of cables are going to be needed to connect an
    Avalon U5 to a QSC PLX 1202?

also, I dont normally play at crazy loud volumes, but want to hook it up for optimized use, I currently have an Avatar 2x10 (1/4 inch inputs only) but will eventually get a second cab (either a 15 or a 12). Do you think running this setup into a single cab for the time being is wise or is it too much power to put into a single small cab (I know it can be done, but am I putting my cab into serious risk of getting blown)?
    thanks
    - Tom

2. pickles

pickles Supporting Member

Mar 23, 2000
    Ventura, CA
    The U5 will either have 1/4" or XLR outputs, hopefully a U5 owner will let you know. That corresponds to either a regular 1/4" instument cable or a microphone cable (respectively) from the Avalon to the PLX, which accepts either.

If your cabinet accepts speakon connectors, I reccomend using those for the speakers.

Before you get the other cab, you can just run one side of the power amp into the cab you have and leave the other idle ... works like a charm, and you won't go blowing your cabinet up by accident.

3. echo008

Jan 30, 2004
    Long Island, NY
    Hi ... that seems easy enough ... XLR out from the avalon to the PA (channel 1) and then 1/4 inch from the PA to my avatar (for now). My avatar has only a 1/4 inch jack.
    thanks
    - Tom

4. BassJunkie730

BassJunkie730

Feb 3, 2005
    Brooklyn