Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

2 questions (I'm new to this)

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by SuperSluggard, Jan 2, 2004.

1. SuperSluggard

SuperSluggard

Jan 2, 2004
    1. I'm in a punk band that plays pretty fast and I need a really good low sound. I'm looking for a guitar that has 4-strings and is under $300 or only a little more than that. I think I'm going to go with a fretted one only because I don't think I can afford a fretless, even though I like the sound. I had a Fender P-Bass that I got for $220, but all of the strings rattled and the D-string made a weird screeching noise as well. So I'm taking that back and going to shop around for another bass.

2. I've got a Crate amp and the guitarist in the band I'm in has a nice amp that goes really loud, much louder than my amp can go. It's kinda hard to hear my bass when he has his turned all the way up so I have to push my amp to it's limits. I turn everthing all the way up and a light blinks that is labeled "limit." It's next to the volume. Could I damage it by playing too loud? Should I get a better amp? This one cost $170 and it was on sale. What do you reccomend? Also, we're going to have another guitarist most likely, so that's two people playing electric guitars and it'll be impossible to hear the bass.

Okay, so that's a few more questions than 2, but try to answer what you can and maybe someone else will have the answer to another question you couldn't answer.

Thanks very much. :D

2. tplyons

tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ