1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

2001RBP??? Fender TBP-1???

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by basswalker2004, Sep 13, 2008.

1. basswalker2004

basswalker2004

Jun 22, 2008
    Hi all,
    I am looking for a preamp to complete by bass rig. I bought a Crown XTi2000, an Aguilar 4x10 and I already had 2 Aguilar 1x12's. I've read hundreds of posts here in TB and they have given me some great ideas. I am leaning very stongly towards the Fender TBP-1.
    My question is.. I am seeing some amazing prices listed in the threads even for new pre's. The best I've gotten so far for the TBP-1 is $649 and for the 2001rbp $859..
    Does this sound right?? If not, any ideas on where I should be shopping? There are not to many options out here in Albuquerque. I hope it is OK to ask questions like this.. I am new to TB.
    thanks

2. bongomania

bongomania Gold Supporting Member Commercial User

Oct 17, 2005
    PDX, OR
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    This is a fine question, we'd only be getting huffy with you if you said "I want to buy this unit, PM me if you have one for sale". As you're looking at prices listed in threads here on TB, be aware that many people are talking about Australian or Canadian dollars, or other currency, not USD. For an accurate idea of US prices, Google is your best bet.

Between the two units you mentioned, they are both highly regarded, but very different. The Fender has a warm old-school sound with a simple EQ, and pretty much just does one sound; while the GK has a modern sound with more tone-shaping options and two switchable channels- it's more versatile, but it can't get the same tone as the Fender.

3. Ryan L.

Ryan L. Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Aug 7, 2000
    West Fargo, ND
    +1.

Having tried both, they are VERY different sounding preamps.

4. basswalker2004

basswalker2004

Jun 22, 2008