1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

210...Genz Benz or Avatar

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Malachi71, Feb 25, 2008.

1. Malachi71

Malachi71

Oct 11, 2007
    I have a choice between buying a Genz Benz 210T-XB (not an XB2) or an Avatar 210 neo. Any suggestions on which one would have better low end, more articulate mids, and smoother highs? Both have a Foster horn but the crossovers are probably different.

2. I have no experience with GB cabs but from what I've heard they are very good. It appears their 12" offerings really shine. However, I do use Avatar B212 w/ a B210 on the way and I could not be happier with my tone. Once you consider their "cost" they are a fantastic deal. I'm sure with either set up you would be pleased. I have heard opinions that the Avatar horn is a bit harsh, i have mine dialed out so no opinion there. You can't try Avatar but perhaps there is somewhere you could put the GB through its paces?

3. amos

amos

Oct 23, 2003
    SE Portland Oregon
    what is the application? what amp are you pairing it with? are you pairing it with extra cabs?

The avatar makes a great addition to a 2x12, 1x15, etc.

There is also the option of the Genz Benz Neo cabs. I am interested in how a GB NeoX 210T pairs with a GB NeoX 212T.

4. Malachi71

Malachi71

Oct 11, 2007
    Currently, I have a Yamaha PB1 preamp running into a Carvin DCM 1000. I do not have any extra cabs but would consider 2 small cabs

5. Mudshark23

Mudshark23

Jan 31, 2008
    SEATTLE
    here is one for you, i bought a used genz benz 212 neo two years ago. sounded pretty good until i blew up the speakers in it after 4 months. (just a little aside, i was running too much juice into the cab, so it was not a design flaw on GB's part or anything like that)