1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

2x12 dimension help

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by cosmicpimp2, Jan 16, 2012.

1. So I've been researching for about a week now to make a 2x12 cab with eminence delta 12lfa. i have two and i was thinking of going off the avatar cab dimension or mesa boogie since its close. I like the mesa sound prob the most. I wanna make this an open thread to throw around ideas for a solid 2x12 vented with a ceramic speaker. just some general dimensions. the vents always get me cause i get confused how deep and big to make them. I'm a skilled carpenter but not so good at understanding the math of speakers. I figured maybe this could help people that can make the cabs but don't know all the exact specs

2. BrBss

BrBss Supporting Member

Jul 9, 2010
    Albuquerque NM
  3. I've been using winISD a lot. But I've played many cabs that sound good that doesn't follow those dimensions.

4. I'm trying to just get a thread of what people have built and found to sound good with 2x12's. All the math in the world doesn't matter to me if it sounds bad

5. BrBss

BrBss Supporting Member

Jul 9, 2010
    Albuquerque NM
    The math was developed for a reason. Without math, its a guessing game. Good luck with that.

6. Passinwind

Passinwind I am Passinwind and some of you are not. Supporting Member Commercial User

Dec 3, 2003
    Columbia River Gorge, WA.
    Owner/Designer &Toaster Tech Passinwind Electronics
    WinISD works with whatever dimensions you feed it, not just by suggesting standard alignments. Try using it to understand why those various cabs that you like sound the way they do. ;)