Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

2x15" and horn

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by evan_phi, Feb 27, 2006.

1. Hi, I'm new to the talkbass forums, and I gotta say, i'm starting to like it here even more all the time!

I'm building a cab, and I was wondering what you other users think of a 2x15" and a Horn setup. (2 15" speakers and a Horn) Anything from experience/current players, etc.

Also, I'm still undecided on a good head... for like 500$ ish CDN.

any input would be great.

Attached Files:

2. I'd say it depends on what kind of sound you're looking for. any number of 15" speakers is going to be a little slanted toward the low end, meaning there'll be lots of it, which might be a good thing, but there's not going to be so much in terms of high end definition, which might not be such a good thing.

My favorite example of a straight 15" sound is Jack Bruce on pretty much any Cream album, but mostly on Disraeli Gears. Pick up a copy of that to hear the thundering sound of a lot of tubes through 15's only.

Adding the horn will help, but only to an extent, because while it will add back to the very top end, the mids will still lack a tiny, ut noticable bit of clarity, but if you're a slap player then this could be your wet dream. ;)

It just depends on what kind of sound you're after.

As for the head, i have no idea. If you can stretch your wallet a little bit the EA iAmp 500 is probably the most versatile, almost certainly the lightest, and has very powerful tone shaping abilities. Other than that, I have no idea.

Good luck, keep is in the loop on how this thing turns out!

3. Yeah, I play a 6, so i planned on cranking the horn all the way for the highs, and upping the mids on the bass's mid sweeper and on the amp (whatever it ends up being.)