1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

2x212 vs 1x610

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Larzon, Apr 18, 2006.

1. Larzon

Larzon

Jan 15, 2005
    Considering to swap my 2 x 212 for a 6x10 cab. (both are ported EBS cabs).
    Would it be a more tight sound with the 6x10?
    What about the lows?

What do you think?

2. I have very little experience with 12"s, but I would imagine you might find the 6x10 more tight.

I speak purely from the fact that 10s do tend to be more punchy. I'd imagine you'll be losing low end, but it may not be noticable.

The 10s will probably have more response, but you may find that the 12s have more low end.

bets bet is to try before ya buy. ;)

3. spectorbass83

spectorbass83

Jun 6, 2005
    canada
    Two 2x12's will definitely give u more lows than a 6x10 cab. The 6x10 will probably be a bit punchier though. Any chance of keeping one of the 2x12's and adding a 6x10??? That would be a killer rig!!

4. chaosMK

chaosMK

May 26, 2005
    Albuquerque, NM
    Hi-fi into an old tube amp
    2 2x12 would probably be louder.

5. Larzon

Larzon

Jan 15, 2005
    Killer rig, yea, probably, but I want cabs as small as possible.

6. Larzon

Larzon

Jan 15, 2005
    I the store the 6x10 sounds beefy. But I don't know, I think I have to try it in a band setting. I'm a little bit worried about the low end (B-string).

Spec on 6x10 - 70-18000 (Hz)
    Spec on 212 - 40-18000 (Hz)

Shouldn't the 6x10 go lower than 70Hz? :eyebrow: