1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

3/4 Basslines

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by Shoehorn, Mar 17, 2008.

1. Hi all,

In my repetoire class at college my teacher has given us a 3/4 chart for summertime. He wants it played more modally ala coltrane but he's pretty nonspecific about what I need to do as a bass player in this setting rhythmically. I've gotten good advice as to when to switch from a dotted quater note groove to walking but otherwise I've been told I'm free to do just about anything within the tonality.

I have very little experience playing both modal jazz and a more open 3/4 feel. Could I get some advice on constructing basslines rhythmically? I do plan to transcribe some Garrison and Reggie Workman stuff but I've got a pile of homework to do first.... I should be doing that now...

2. mix up the use of triplets and duples. get away from any blues scales. minor is always dorian (major 6). Have fun.

3. That's good advice. Something I do when playing tunes in 3 is, once the time and feel are established through the head and as we get deeper into solos and group improvisation, to approach 2 bars of 3 as 1 bar of 6. Feeling things this way allows me to open up and explore more rhythmic ideas over bar lines and traditional weigh points in the form. When I reach that point I'm grouping bars together in an odd/even fashion. Then, if everyone is there, I can wind up internally feeling a triplet pulse and playing anything anywhere as bar lines melt away. It's important though that mentally you know where the tune is.