1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

3 finger approach, questions

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Mahumadi, Apr 19, 2009.

1. Mahumadi

Mahumadi Banned

Apr 19, 2009
    North Eastern PA
    I am a guitarist of a year gone bass. I am new so my technique is still being worked on. My bass teacher told me he wants me using 3 fingers and has told me not to move my thumb from a dedicated spot, meaning no muting the E with my thumb. I am cool with this technique, it feels alright.

I am assuming that using 3 fingers with a dedicated thumb anchor is an accepted and widely used technique?

I can see myself having trouble with muting in the future, when I begin to pick up the pace. I am assuming muting, and using which fingers where to achieve this will come naturally with practice?

2. markkoelsch

markkoelsch

Sep 6, 2008
    I am not sure about the anchored thumb position. I learned with an anchored thumb, and I switch between 2 and 3 fingers depending on what I am playing. I have found that I tend to move my thumb depending on what I am playing. If I am playing on the bottom string I or two I tend to anchor on the pickup. If I am playing on the higher strings I tend to float my thumb on the lower strings to assist in muting them.

Also, the vast majority of the time I find 3 finger techniue to no tbe needed anymore. I have developed my 2 finger technique to a point that I can play most everything that way. When doing this I tend to use the floating thumb mute, and my right hand ring finger as a mute too.

Mark

3. nysbob

nysbob

Sep 14, 2003
    Cincinnati OH
    I play with three, sometimes anchored and sometimes not. There's certainly nothing wrong with what he's having you do.

I do most of my muting with the left hand, so I don't see the issue.

4. Mahumadi

Mahumadi Banned