Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

3 fingered technique

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by rashbeep, Aug 26, 2005.

1. rashbeep

rashbeep

Jul 15, 2005
    Toronto, ON
    anyone know how to master this technique? im currently playing with two but i would very much like to learn to play with three

2. chaosMK

chaosMK

May 26, 2005
    Albuquerque, NM
    Hi-fi into an old tube amp
    I am not sure when I started playing with three fingers with my right hand. I had probably been playing some pretty fast metal (Fear Factory) with a pick and one day just started throwing in the third finger to do stuff like hurdas (sp?) and sixteenth note triplets. So maybe in some ways neccessity is the place to start.

The way I improved my proficiency over time was by trying out about as many different patterns that I could think of and drumming rudiments that would be really hard with just two fingers.

Here are a few of my favorites these days, that I usually practice on arpeggios.

Reversing 4 note pattern-
    3-2-1-2-1-2-3-2

Reversing triplet pattern
    3-2-1-1-2-3

3. Correlli

Correlli

Apr 2, 2004
    New Zealand
    I would like ask two questions if I may.

How long have you been playing bass?

What do you want to use 3 finger technique for?

Reason why I ask these questions, is that 3 finger technique has very limited uses. To "get the job done" 2 fingers is all you need. What I man by "getting the job done" is playing bass as part of the rhythm section, and supporting the song.